Public Speaking

Okay, it has been a few days since my last post, and there is probably a good reason for that. Lately my headspace has been all chaotic with different things going on at home and in my professional life, so I have opted not to post anything new until I had something to actually say…

So with this new topic I guess that means I do have something new and interesting going on!

Last week was a busy week for yours truly with a radio interview on the Saturday with my friend Kim Smith; Then on Monday I was at the Theatre, then later in the week I met with my good friend Mikhail Sedyshev, who introduced me to the sport of Rope Cutting. Now as simple as this sounds, it is quite the opposite. For one, you have a bundle of ropes tied together – often it is a bunch of 4 or more ropes tied together – and second, you have to successfully sever the rope in one swing. Okay, easy you think? Yeah right! Did I forget to mention that the rope hangs freely! Not as easy as it seems, but quite interesting to watch!

Okay, so I did try my hand at this sport, and I found out that although the concept is the same as chopping down a tree with an axe, the result is not quite the same… At least it wasn’t for me. Oh well, they do say that practise makes perfect!

Right, getting back to the post topic… Public Speaking!

As I mentioned in a previous post, I often get chills (and not in a good way) at the thought of public speaking. Even as I am writing this, my head is spinning with the new challenge I face for myself… Speaking to a mass audience in a stadium. Yes, little ol’ writer me will be delivering a speech at the Mayak Stadium in Samara this coming Tuesday evening.

Now as exciting as that be for all extroverts, I am not quite in the class of artists who lives for the limelight. Infact, I once heard that writers are quite the reclusive mob, preferring to glow in the radiance of their famousosity by themselves or with those closest to them… I think that much is true, but I also think that in order to grow, we are allowed to face certain obstacles in life.

As I write this, I am reminded of one of the great men of history who also loathed public speaking. Now if you are thinking of Michael Jackson, then you are wrong (although he is one of the reclusive types – and strange). No, the person I am talking about is the biblical hero, Moses.

If you dont mind me sounding off hear for a minute, let me explain what I mean.

Moses, the once former heir of the throne of Egypt, and the leader of the Hebrew nation. We all know who he was. After all, I am sure many of you have heard about him through the teachings in Sunday School or learned a little about him through Charlton Heston portrayal of him in the Cecil B. DeMille‘s 1956 classic The Ten Commandments.  As great as Moses was, he was terrified of public speaking.

When Moses was met by the vision of God at the burning bush, he said to God, “How can I speak to these people as I am a man who is slow of speech” and slow of tongue“.  Moses was terrified of speaking to masses.. Hmmm That is probably why he had Aaron.

Okay, so I dont have an Aaron like he did. But I have an Anna! (Even better!)

It is times like this that I am grateful for having a wife who stands by my side.. and will be standing  by my side on Tuesday evening to translate to the audience the fantastical speech that will really move the audience, and by that I mean they will leave, and for a moment I will hear the sounds of crickets… Then silence as they will leave too.. Leaving me to stand on an empty stage, applauding myself. Good Grief. Okay, that lightheartedness makes me feel better. I just love to ramble sometimes! 🙂

Coming up this week:

I will be on-air on Elemental Musings. Catch my radio interview on the 14th with Bev.  The broadcast is at 7 p.m. Mountain time (8 p.m. Central/9 p.m. Eastern). 6am Samara (the 15th)

I catch up with Brian at The New Author on the 15th through to the 17th.

On the 18th I interview my good friend Kim Smith, author of Avenging Angel. Catch that interview on this website!

And of course, if you live in Samara, you can see me live on Tuesday evening at the Mayak Stadium, Samara.

Have a good week everyone!

Posted on December 13, 2008, in Life in Samara and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

