In The Spotlight with Kim Smith ~ Avenging Angel

Today I would like you to welcome my special guest, Kim Smith. Kim Smith’s debut book, Avenging Angel, is a novel set in a fictional town called South Lake, Mississippi. Avenging Angel is the story about Shannon Wallace is having a bad hair week. She’s been ditched from her job, dumped by her boyfriend,and implicated in his murder. When she learns their very private video collection is missing from the crime scene, it is all out war to keep the cops from finding them first. But the killer has taken them and he’s watched them all. Now Shannon is at the top of his most wanted list!

*********************************************************

CM: Kim, Welcome to my web today. Please tell our readers about you. Please share a short bio with us.
KS:
I was born in Memphis, TN and have lived hereabouts all of my life. As the old song goes, Memphis born, Memphis bred, when I die I’ll be Memphis dead. I have been writing seriously since 1992. My husband grew tired of hearing me say I wanted to write a book. He plunked me down in front of my first computer in that year and said, “now you have no more excuses”. He is my best friend, and my biggest fan. No, he did not pay me to say that. I have two wonderful young adult children who are famous in their own right. They are both actors.

CM: Tell us about your upcoming release and where it can be found.
KS:
My book is entitled, Avenging Angel, a Shannon Wallace Mystery. It is being published by Red Rose Publishing, and fans will be able to buy it from the publisher’s site, Fictionwise, and other e-book venues. I am hoping that soon, if I have good download sales, it will be out in print. Come on you guys, you KNOW you wanna buy this book! Avenging Angel : A blurb—Shannon Wallace is having a bad hair week. She’s been ditched by her job, dumped by her boyfriend, and implicated in his murder. When she discovers that their very private collection of videos has turned up missing at the crime scene, it is all out war to find them before the cops do. But the killer has them, and he’s watched them. Now she’s at the top of his most wanted list!

CM: What age did you discover writing?
KS:
It had to be in grade school. There was this Thanksgiving story we had to write about the Pilgrims and how they were the first to celebrate the American holiday. My mother surprised me with that when I was a new mother and told me she had kept it for me all those years. I knew then that she wanted me to write and be published since she knew she would never get the chance. I am making her smile from Heaven with this book, I know.

CM: Who has inspired you as an author?
KS
: Oh, just about every writer I have had the privilege to get to know, either through online means, or through their respective works. I am definitely a writer junkie. I love to meet them, read them, and follow their journey. Wonder if there is a 12 step program for people like me?

CM: What’s the most interesting comment you have received about your books?
KS
: That fans of Janet Evanovich will love my books. I ADORE her and to be compared, well, it just made my day.

CM: Do you have a specific time or place that you write?
KS
: I used to only write at my desk in my office. I got a lot accomplished up there using the Stephen King method, you know, keeping the door closed, while writing and open while editing. But my family has changed so much over the last few years with kids going to college and moving in and out, that the whole landscape of my home has changed. I am almost back to that place though, and soon hope to be able to resume that sort of private and nurtured life. Right now, it is write as I can, where I can, when I can.

CM: What’s next for you?
KS
: I have book two in the Shannon Wallace mysteries nearly finished, all it needs is a bit of spit polish done, then it is off to the submission’s editor’s desk. I am working hard on book three, a short story for an anthology due to come out next year, and a ton of articles for promotions. I truly believe in paying it back, so I am going to try to help pave an aspiring author’s journey with a little softer ground cover. I think all writers need someone to just give them a boost, and so I will do that. I have a radio show, and several blogs and I know how to use them 🙂

CM: Where can you be found on the web?
KS
: I can found at

http://www.mkimsmith.com
http://www.mkimsmith.com/blog
http://writingspace.blogspot.com
http://murderby4.blogspot.com
http://www.redrosepublishing.com

CM: Kim, Thanks for stopping by today.

Folks, dont forget to stop by Kim’s Radio Show today
Time: 7:30pm – 8:00pm
Location: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/kims

Posted on December 18, 2008, in Guest Authors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Хм,согласен с предыдущими вы сказываниями

  2. Hi again! Nice interview on Kim. I checked out the blog radio site she has, cool! I saw the contest on facebook again and forgot I had entered yours. I am Aquarian so I can be forgetful. Hey, Happy Holidays!

  3. Thank you for having me on your site today, C. This is quite an exciting day! I hope everyone will make plans to go and download my book! And then come and listen or even CALL in on the radio show tonight. 730 pm CST.

Leave a Reply

