Interview With …. S.M. Stryker

Hey readers. Today I chat with romance author, S.M. Stryker.

Shelly (SM), hails from Oregon WA; Has been married almost 28 years and has 4 grown daughters and 2 grandkids.

S. M. Stryker

Shelly, thanks for being my guest here today. Please tell our readers a little something about yourself.
To say I grew up in a dysfunctional family is putting it mildly. Although at the time it was the only thing I knew. I escaped by getting married right out of school which I thought was the only way to escape. However, that put me into another type of dysfunction. After five years and a child, I knew she was more important than I was, and soon I was on my own again. I always knew that my life would make a good story or soap opera, and I thought about writing, but I had a child to take care of and everything I did, I did with her in mind.

I never had a childhood; I started working at a very early age and didn’t stop until I remarried. We had agreed that we wanted to raise our own children. 25 years later and 3 more girls, I started to think about my life and the idea of writing again. I wasn’t an avid reader as I didn’t have the time. Between the girls’ school and sports, I ran non-stop for them, but once they were on their own, I needed some distraction other than work.

I had returned to the work force several years earlier to a career that was flexible to the girls’ schedule. Once my youngest was out of the house in college, I was offered a job that gave me the security I needed.

I had picked up a book to read during my lunch hour and found that I wasn’t the only one that lived a dysfunctional childhood. I contacted a few authors that I had read and asked them questions about writing, and they gave me their advice and in April of 2014, I came home from work, pulled out my computer and started to write. This was part of my story; I sat in front of my computer pulling old memories of my childhood and teen years. It was hard, but my hope was to let other people know that if they had gone through what I had, they could come out the other side. That was the start of how I started writing.

Every story I have written has a part of my life in it.

Stolen Innocence

Shelly, What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
Currently, it is writing. I find that I am not a very nice person when I go through withdrawals from writing. I love it. I love my characters and the stories they live.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I don’t know. I don’t ever want to be that person that weighs down another out of obligation. I would want them to want to hang out with me and not for just a day, but out of friendship.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
It’s about a girl that finds herself on the streets and what she has to do to survive, how she finds love and loses it and the friendships she finds along the way and how what she thought about a past love wasn’t really, what happened. It a story of second chances.

What are you working on next?
A story about a man that has put his life into his work. His parents are his only friends and what happens to him when they die in an accident. What helps him cope and what gives him the will to live and how he is shown love, the kind of love that he has never had before.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I don’t think so. I’m just a wife, mother, and grandmother that loves to tell stories to make people feel good. To let them know that life isn’t fair but they can come out the other side and be a survivor and not a victim

Who are your favorite authors?
Sylvan Reynard, JC Reed, HM Ward, Vi Keeland, Jasinda Wilder, EL James

What do you like to do with your free time?
Write, every second I get.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I am currently writing about some of the characters in my second book Never Forgotten Love. Book 3 Loved and Belonged (in editing not 100% on the name as of yet) is about two of the characters in the book. He is an ex-marine, she a young runaway looking for her mother. This book should be out in the next two months. My current book I am writing, book 4, doesn’t have a name as of yet, but it is also about a couple that are in my past books. He was introduced in Never Forgotten and she was introduced in book 3 (Loved and Belonged) these are not ‘series’ book but more sequels. You don’t have to get Never Forgotten to know what is happening in Loved and Belonged. Etc.

Awesome. Where can people find you on the web?
https://www.facebook.com/Author.S.M.Stryker
http://smstryker.wix.com/smstryker

Although I have many social media places, I am primarily on Facebook.

Any final thoughts?
I never though I would enjoy writing so much. I lost my job of three years because of my first book Stolen Innocence. They didn’t like the content and always carried a composition book with me for ideas and phrases that I might come up with. It was eight months before I could get a job. Although Stolen Innocence is very mild compared to what I lived, it was my life. I changed my name not wanting others to know who I was and what I had gone through. I realized that I was doing the same thing I accused others of doing, sweeping sexual assault under the carpet. I was a victim all over again. Once it was published, I didn’t’ care, I wanted people to know what things I had gone through in my childhood and if I could help one person that is all that mattered to me.

Do I want to be a well-known author, Hell Yes! but that’s not why I wrote Stolen, it was healing for me, and even though Amazon banned it a couple times due to incest (I had to change that to an adoptive father) and water down the scene of abuse, people need to be aware that sexual abuse happens all the time, we have to start listening to our children, it might not be in words but actions, changes in personality. Don’t sweep it under the carpet because that person that might have hurt your child is a nice guy and that he would never do such a thing…He’s a pastor, and uncle, a brother. Stop worrying about the scary man because it is usually someone you know. (off my soapbox now)

Thanks Shelly for being my guest here today. Readers, if you want to grab a copy of Shelly’s books, you can get them on Amazon:

Stolen Innocence
Never Forgotten Love
and don’t forget to connect with the author on Goodreads, and Twitter.

Never Forgotten Love

 

Posted on March 2, 2015, in Guest Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on smstryker and commented:
    Thank you for the interview! If you have any other questions, please don’t hesitate to ask. I am an open book!

    Shelly

    Like

  1. Pingback: Interview With …. S.M. Stryker | smstryker

Leave a Reply

