Interview With…. Lillian Csernica

Welcome readers and book lovers. Today I am joined by Lillian Csernica. Lillian was born in San Diego and is a genuine California native.She resides in Northern California with her husband, two sons and three cats.

Her very first short story sale, “Fallen Idol,” appeared in After Hours and was later reprinted in DAW’S YEAR’S BEST HORROR STORIES XX. Lillian has gone on to publish stories in DAW’S Year’s Best Horror Stories XXI, 100 Wicked Little Witch Stories, and HORRORS! 365 Scary Stories. Lillian has also published an historical romance novel, SHIP OF DREAMS, and has written a considerable amount of nonfiction in the field of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. She has also been a columnist for Speculations, writing “The Fright Factory” and “The Writer’s Spellbook.” Her controversial column of literary criticism and short fiction reviews, “The Penny Dreadful Reader” ran in Tangent, earning praise from such leading lights of the field as editor Ellen Datlow.

PR photo colorLillian. thanks for being here today. Please tell our readers about you.
I’ve been married 26 years, I have two teenage sons, and I love to travel.  My sons both have special needs.  My older son has cerebral palsy and seizure disorder.  My younger son is high-functioning autistic.  Their needs keep me at home most of the time, so that means I have to do my traveling inside my own head.  Fortunately, that makes me well-suited to be a writer.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
The alarm clock.  I’m a night owl and I tend to stay up later than I should.  On weekdays I have to be up early to give my older son his medication and get him ready for the school bus.  On the weekends I sleep late, but I do spend most of my day in my office working.

ShipEbook
If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
My patron saint, St. Irene of Chrysovolantou.  In the 9th Century, she was abbess of a convent in Greece.  The story of her life and the miracles she worked can be found at http://oca.org/saints/lives/2015/07/28/102119-st-irene-chrysovolantou.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
I’m working on a trilogy I call The Flower Maiden Saga, historical romance set in Japan, 1865 to 1867.  In the first novel, my heroine Yuriko is a British girl sold to a corrupt samurai by her diplomat father to settle a gambling debt.  She escapes and meets my hero, Tendo Kazuhiro, who fights to protect her from the corrupt samurai.  Right now I’m halfway through the second novel.  Tendo and Yuriko are now married and facing all the challenges that presents given how much his family disapproves of him marrying a foreigner.  The social and political upheavals of this period in Japanese history provide a lot of story material.
What are you working on next?
The third book.  I’m also quite busy with short story projects.  I’ve begun writing steampunk, and I find I really enjoy it.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I’m good at public speaking.  I was on the Speech and Debate Team in both high school and college.  That training comes in very handy, especially when I’m on panels at conventions.

frightfactory

Who are your favorite authors?
Tanith Lee, Elizabeth Peters, Wen Spencer, Terry Pratchett, A.M. Burrage, and Seabury Quinn.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Watch the wildlife in my backyard.  A creek runs along our back property line, so we have wood ducks, deer, foxes, squirrels, and a variety of wild birds.  I keep the bird feeder filled, which also provides some entertainment for my three cats.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I look forward to writing the third novel in The Flower Maiden Saga.  Most of my other work involves fantasy of one type or another.  Historical fiction is wonderful, but fantasy will always be my first love.

Where can people find you on the web?
lillian888.wordpress.com
Goodreads
Twitter
Amazon

Any final thoughts?
This is a great time to be a writer.  We have more options than ever before.

Thanks for being my guest today Lillian. Readers, be sure to check out Lillian’s links on Goodreads and Amazon for some great titles.

spellbook

Posted on March 10, 2015, in Guest Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

