Interview With…. Craig A McDonough

Hi Readers. Today I welcome Craig A. McDonough. Craig was born in Melbourne, lived here for most of his life til 2011 when he packed up and moved to the US to get married, and he now resides on the edge of the Mojave Desert. He loves a good horror/thriller/ crime novels and films.

author pic

Craig, welcome to my blog. Please tell our readers about yourself.
My first story ever written was in high school. Some years later I submitted a story for a Herald-Sun
competition, but I didn’t win 😦

Always had a story or 2 on my mind and dabbled with writing but it wasn’t until 2012 that I started writing seriously after my wife’s encouragement. She is a very creative person herself (an artist & writer) and it helps to be around others of like mind. In 2013 I self published the first 2 books/parts of my novel “The Chronicles of Vladimir” and in 2014 added the final 2 books/parts and published in a single volume. The book has just had a title change to “Horror at Pine Ridge” the mysterious cemetery in the story.

003 Pine Ridge

In 2014 I submitted – and was successful- a short story called “She Said” to a horror anthology “Happy Little Horrors“. Towards the end of 2014, my current project “Toward the Brink” (an apocalyptic novel), was accepted for publication by Winlock Press an imprint of Permuted Press. It was released on February 24 2015. Its the first of a 4 book series.

Happy Horrors

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
Coffee, Oh, and have to feed the Dogs, Cats and Horse !

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
It would probably have to be someone from another planet – I’d like to meet someone with real intelligence at least once which obviously leaves humans out. lol

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Apocalypse, post apocalypse survival

What are you working on next?
I’m currently writing the final book for the Brink series titled “Back from the Brink” (which could be doubtful in itself) as well as preparing a new story set in a lovely small town with picturesque scenery… it just happens to have a serial killer on the rampage. Just to liven things up a bit. On top of that I’m writing a short thriller/suspense type story that will be available only to subscribers of my newsletter – FREE – however, it will be professionally edited.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I’m pretty intuitive and perceptive of others thoughts – not all but most.

Who are your favorite authors?
Stephen king (doesn’t everyone say that?) James Scott Bell, Ray Bradbury, Richard Matheson James M. Cain. and have lately become interested in Dashiel Hammet and Raymond Chandler.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Play guitar listen to some good music

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
At the moment I’d would like to get 2 good length novels (around 50-60k words) and 1 anthology out per year plus 4 novella’s (about 25k words each) as well this year will be 4 novels at 50k words plus and maybe 3 novella’s so its kind of backward but thats ok. 🙂

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00008]

Where can people find you on the web?
Web: www.craigamcdonough.com
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Craig-A.-McDonough/e/B00G9FZW26
Toward The Brink book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvDPDLswZCI
Facebook
Goodreads

Any final thoughts?
I would just like to thank you for the opportunity to talk about what I’m doing , I appreciate it.

Posted on March 13, 2015, in Guest Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

