Interview With…. Ashley Howland

Hi readers. Today I am joined by Ashley Howland, author of “Obi The Super Puppy“, and “Ghostnapped“.

Ashley lives in Adelaide, South Australia. She and her dogs, Obi and Stitch, work for Labs ‘n Life, a nonprofit organization that works with youth at risk to train Labradors as autism assistance dogs (www.labsnlife.com). She is inspired to write by her husband Ross, her daughters, Maddy and Aijay, and of course, Obi and Stitch. They are a constant, endless source of material and happiness. Her next book is a novel for teenagers titled It’s What You Do Next That Counts.

???????????????????????????????

Ashley, thanks for being here today. Please tell us about you.
I am a mother, teacher and writer. I love to create characters and stories with my two girls.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
My dogs certainly help by jumping all over me. Actually I would have to say my girls. They are so full of energy, life and have an amazing natural zest. It’s pretty easy to get the day started
with them bouncing around. The dogs are just as energetic.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I’d have to say Andy Griffiths and yes my girls would have to come. They love his books and would love a chance to spend the day writing with him.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
It’s What You Do Next That Counts is a book for teenagers. It’s about a year in the life of a sixteen year old girl. Her parents have died and she has moved countries to live with her Aunt and Uncle. It’s a book with a lot happening. Callie the main character has made some pretty tough decisions, but she meets some great new people on the way.
To me this book is all about friendship and finding yourself. It is set in Perth and Vancouver, two cities that are worlds apart. This book will appeal to boys and girls, there is a lot of Australian life in the story, with the beach, cricket and other sports playing and important part.

I will be releasing this book on Kindle towards the middle of March and then the print version will follow!

What are you working on next?
Next  have the sequel to Obi the Super Puppy and the Mystery of the Red Mist:
http://www.amazon.com/Ashley-Howland/e/B00BQA4XRO
This one is called Obi the Super Puppy and the Quest for the Last Laugh. These books are about my first Labrador, who thought he was a super hero. He was always doing strange things, but with such purpose. In these books he tells my two girls all about his adventures. The second book also introduces our next Lab – Stitch. It’s been a lot of fun to write about Obi and keep his memory alive.

ObiTheSupperPuppy web

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
Most people will tell me that writing is a special or extraordinary talent, I hope it is. However I think my desire to do things and to be creative is more amazing. I’m not sure I am very talented at most of the things I do, but I still like to do them. One example is cake decorating. Every birthday I create cakes for the girls. They love to make it hard for me too. One ear it was Snow White and the seven smurfs on a pirate ship. I was up for the challenge and it ended up being pretty cool. I am still mastering cake pops, but it will not defeat me. I can now do something that resembles a reindeer, monkey and polar bear.It’s a bit of a laugh as the girls love to see what I can come up with.

Who are your favourite authors?
I love Roald Dahl, he was always my favourite and I still read his books to my girls and my classes. Other authors I enjoy reading are Andy Griffiths (perfect for reading to primary school students) and
John Flanagan (love the Ranger’s Apprentice). I read a lot and like to try different authors. Basically I love books with action, mystery and a good laugh.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Free time, that’s an interesting concept. When I get some down time I quickly grab the computer and write. It isn’t always a story, sometimes I just like to get on my blog: http://ahowland.org/wordpress/
I think it’s important to find some time just for you and to do something you love.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I am working on a series of nonfiction activity books. They will be the Not So Boring Books. The first one is all about creative writing. By the end of the book you should have your very own story completed. This project is something I am really passionate about because I love writing with children. The next project is a series of super hero books. My girls helped me develop their super hero characters and I have some first drafts done. It will take me a while to get the first one or two books out, but I am hopeful of a release later this year. They are The Lighting Lilly and Princess Sea Adventures. Right at the moment I am taking part in the chapter book challenge. The aim is to write a chapter book in the month of March. This year it’s a pirate trilogy for me. So I am very busy, but that’s always how I work
the best.

Where can people find you on the web?
I have a webpage that will be updated later this year: http://ahowland.org/
Other than that and my blog I am on Facebook:
I also have twitter, Pinterest, Goodreads and Amazon.
I can also be emailed at ashley@ahowland.org as part of my blog I run Stitch Says which is a chance for me to help promote other children’s authors. I offer reviews and interviews.

Any final thoughts?
I’d just like to say thank you for this opportunity. I am very passionate about reading and writing so it’s great to be able share on a forum like this!

Thanks for joining us Ashley 🙂

Posted on March 18, 2015, in Guest Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re welcome Ashley. It was a pleasure to have you here 🙂

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on ghostnapped and commented:
    Thanks to Chris for the interview!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the interview Chris!

    Like

Leave a Reply

