Interview With…. Sandy Semerad

HI readers. Today I am chatting with mystery author, Sandy Semerad.

sandyinpartyattire

Sandy, thanks for being here today. Tell our readers about you.
As a child, growing up in south Alabama, I escaped reality by making up stories in my head. I’m still making them up. Although it took me many years before I finally wrote one of those stories down.

After my first novel was published, I was delighted when readers told me how much they enjoyed it. So I got hooked on the writing process.

I learned the craft of writing as a journalist. I earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Georgia State University in Atlanta.

I’ve worked as a newspaper reporter, broadcaster, editor and columnist, mostly in Atlanta. After I moved to the Florida Panhandle, I worked for a while with a local newspaper, and I also accepted gigs as a makeup artist. (I learned the art of doing makeup as a model, but that’s another story.)

It was after I began to travel with a national publishing company of chamber of commerce literature that I wrote my first novel, now titled SEX, LOVE & MURDER (previously called MARDI GRAVESTONE), HURRICANE HOUSE followed and then A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES.

New Cover BWL Hurricane House - Copy

I now live in Santa Rosa Beach with my husband Larry, spoiled Shih Tzu P-Nut and adopted cat Miss Kitty. I have two grown daughter and a granddaughter. They all provide constant fodder for my writing.

What inspires you to get out of bed every day?
My mind spins with things I want and need to do. I’m most inspired when I wake up with a great idea that I want to write down. I’m a morning person. I like to rise early and get a head start on the day. You might say, I’m driven, although I never seem to catch up. There’s always stuff on my “to do” list. In that way, I’m similar to my protagonist Carrie Sue Justice in A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES.

Also, P-Nut has to be walked. She rules and is trying to teach me to live in the moment. I also enjoy exercising in the morning to get my endorphins pumping. I used to run, but now work out to exercise DVDs.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?

Probably, President Obama, because I think it would be fun to follow him around for a day, and I could blog about my experience.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES is based on a murder trial I covered in the mid-1980s as a newspaper reporter in Atlanta. The trial haunted me for many years. I created the character Carrie Sue Justice to tell the story. It begins with Carrie Sue today, finding her journal. The story is told through her journal entries. Since this is fiction, I’ve embellished and changed the names and many of the facts as presented. The steamy love story is complete fantasy.

Semerad-AMessageInTheRoses cover (2)

What are you working on next?
A sequel to A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?

Larry, my piano playing husband, tells me I have a talent for singing and songwriting. He always wants me to perform. He has a weekly gig at the Presbyterian Church in Freeport, Florida, and when I’m not traveling with my day job, he encourages me to sing solos at the church. I also sing in the choir. My other interests include: cooking for my friends and family.

Who are your favorite authors?

Three of my favorite books are: TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, written my Harper Lee; HUCKLEBERRY FINN, by Mark Twain; and WHITE OLEANDER by Janet Fitch. The works of Tennessee Williams and William Shakespeare are brilliant. I’ve read every Mary Higgins Clark mystery, and probably all of Sandra Brown’s books. Nickolas Sparks is another favorite. I also enjoy Nora Roberts, Lisa Gardner and Harlan Coben. I’ve read most of Jeremiah Healy’s mysteries. I’m sure I’m leaving out many of my favorites. I just finished reading J.K. Rowling’s CASUAL VACANCY. I’m now reading a book by Danielle Steel. And I’ve enjoyed authors—too many to name—published by my publisher, Books We Love. So, as you can see, my tastes are varied.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Write and read and spend time with my family.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
As I mentioned, I’m now working on a sequel to my latest novel, A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES.

Where can people find you on the web?

My web site: www.sandysemerad.com
My publisher’s site: http://bookswelove.net/authors/semerad-sandy/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SandySemerad

cover for Sex, Love & Murder
Any final thoughts?
I want to thank you for interviewing me and thank the booklovers. I hope you enjoy reading my books.

Thanks Sandy for being here today 🙂

 

Posted on March 20, 2015, in Guest Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m a big fan of yours, Joan, as you know! Hugs!

    Like

  2. Joan, I so sorry I addressed you as John. My fingers are tired and making mistakes. Hugs!

    Like

  3. Thank you for reading the interview, John. I’m so happy your enjoyed my latest book A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES! I love your books, too! Hugs!

    Like

  4. Thank you, Ann, for commenting. I think you are talented, too. Hugs!

    Like

  5. I loved the interview and as a gift to your readers, they can download A MESSAGE IN THE ROSES free today. Here’s the link: http://www.amazon.com/Message-Roses-Sandy-Semerad-ebook/dp/B00LROV17O/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1426860898&sr=1-1&keywords=sandy+semerad

    Like

  6. Very interesting interview. What a multi-talented woman you are, Sandy!

    Like

  7. Great interview, Sandy. I feel like I know you a little better now. Thanks for sharing. And thank you too for your comment on Google re ‘Stephen King ~My Favorite Teacher’. I tried to reply but it wouldn’t let me.
    Loved your book ‘Message in the Roses’. All the best,
    Joan.
    http://www.joanhallhovey.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

