Interview With Rebecca Moore, author of Mothering Through Bipolar

Hi folks. Today Rebecca Moore joins us for an interview spot. If you follow my blog, Rebecca was a guest a couple of days ago during her book tour.

Rebecca Moore

Rebecca, tell our followers about you
I was diagnosed with Postpartum Depression in 2002 and later diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder. In 2011 while pregnant with my seventh child I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. I love to read, take walks, spend time with my family and play with my two dogs. I’m also married to my high school sweetheart and live in Northeastern Pennsylvania.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
My children. They are my inspiration to do everything I do.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
Sully Erna from the band Godsmack. He’s a musical genius and I’d love to talk to him about the music he writes and how he’s able to hold his composure under all the pressure.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
When I was first diagnosed I tried reaching out to other mothers who were also diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. Information and connections were hard to come back. I first started my blog and soon attracted many readers. It wasn’t long before I was putting pen to paper in hopes to giving moms a resources they could go to so they wouldn’t feel so alone like I did.

Mothering Through Bipolar

Tell us your writing process
I lock myself in my office and write until I can’t write anymore. There really is no rhyme or reason to it.

Do you have any advice on what has and has not worked for you that you can share with other authors?
I’m just myself. I advocate a lot for mental health which draws attention to the work that I do. I also blog for myself and for PsychCentral. I run an author Facebook Page and a Facebook Mental Health Page.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
When I saw the need for more personal information about Bipolar Disorder. There isn’t enough personal stories to inspire and help others.

Tell us about your main character:
That would be myself. I share my struggles with Bipolar Disorder and the things I did to overcome the hard times. I talk a lot about how my children inspired me to push through each day.

What are you working on next?
I have been re-diagnosed and the new diagnosis is very fitting. I am in the process of publishing my new memoir “Embracing Madness“. It’s a walk through my life, starting with childhood of living with a mental illness surrounded by a family who didn’t understand or want to believe that mental illness was even real.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I wouldn’t call it extraordinary but I can play the piano.

Who are your favorite authors?
Andy Behrman who wrote Electroboy, Allie Burke who wrote Paper Souls and some of my old time favorites are Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

What do you like to do with your free time?
I don’t get much free time. If I’m not writing, I’m caring for my seven children. We’re planning a camping trip for next year though. Some vacation time is well over do.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I have already started the publishing process for “Embracing Madness” and I have another book “Path To Mental Health Wellness” that I will be publishing as well. I want to help others reach the point of stability the best they can. “Path To Mental Health Wellness” is for anyone with a mental illness.

Where can people find you on the web?
http://rebeccamoore.me
https://www.facebook.com/rebeccamooreauthor
http://schizophrenicmomma.com/

Any final thoughts?
Thank you for having me on the blog today! I’ve enjoyed my time talking about my new release and
upcoming books. My purpose is to reach out to others who are living with mental illness and help them feel less alone. I also think my work can help family members understand what their loved ones are going through.

Posted on May 20, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

