Interview with Su Halfwerk

Hi folks. Today I am chatting with Su Halfwerk. From a tender age, the written word left a strong impression on Su. Later on, the scary, terrifying, blood chilling books became the object of her interest. Somehow, in her mind, the blossoming of romance in the midst of that mix, was only natural.

Her style in Horror combines the shuddery terror with an element of surprise, some would even call it an enigmatic twist. While in the world of Paranormal Romance, she transforms the desire to scare, into a quest to seduce and tantalize .

Author-Su-Halfwerk-207x300

Su, thanks for being here today. Tell our readers about you.
I’ve been told that I have a dark imagination and a wicked sense of humor. I love Italian and Indian cuisine, for the latter, the spicier the better. I read in the Paranormal romance, horror, suspense, and historical romance genres. End of the day, I’m just a woman who’s trying to leave her mark on the world.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
Each day is a new beginning, a promise of the fulfillment of personal and professional dreams.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
Nora Roberts. Her “In Death” series gives me goosebumps whenever I read it. I would love to find out her process for writing it. If you haven’t read the series, please do. Eve Dallas and her Roarke shouldn’t be missed.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Every now and then, I become obsessed with a topic which turns into a story. After extensive research, I gathered that determination can turn into blinding obsession. How far can obsession mislead someone? Is it wise to continue with it even when danger is in sight? And so Aberrancy was born. Robert Williamson allowed his obsession to drive and ruin his life. He’s convinced a witch had her sights on his family, fortune, and career and vows to never let her go without punishment.

Aberrancy-200x300

Tell us your writing process
I start with an outline where I pour all my thoughts and ideas. After that it’s a matter of finding the time and right circumstances to sit and write. Loud noises and interruptions really hamper my style :).

Do you have any advice on what has and has not worked for you that you can share with upcoming authors?
I admit I’ve been lacking in the promotion department, but this is what I learned: Time and dedication will take you a long way. Promote yourself and your writing every day, utilize social media networks to spread the word. Contact reviewers, interact with other writers as well as readers, and keep your name out there. However, do it without the constant “buy my book” shpeel. Don’t do to others what you don’t want done to you. Joining groups and tribes just to share links about your work is boring. It’s also rude if you don’t respond to questions; it shows you weren’t listening. Why would anyone listen to you? Instead, be interesting enough that potential readers will look for you and your work.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
In 2002 I had my son. I became this super hygienic mom and I stopped painting because of turpentine and other chemicals. At the time my reading tended to be all about Stephen King and since I’ve already read everything till that stage, I was going out of my mind without an outlet for my creativity. Writing was safe, clean, and I can do it even in bed. Once I started, I couldn’t stop.

Tell us about your main character:
Robert Williamson is a stubborn man. He got it into his head that a witch was responsible for ruining his life and career; and nothing was going to stop him from avenging himself. He uses what remained of his sanity to track her down, face her, and demand explanations.

What are you working on next?
Not sure yet. I have a couple of ideas floating around in my noggin. One is paranormal romance and the other is serialized dark fiction story.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
It’s a skill more than a talent. I can read 4 languages but speak only 3 of them. Oh, and I also paint. You can see some of my work here: http://www.pinterest.com/suhalfwerk/my-paintings/

Who are your favorite authors?
Stephen King, Nora Roberts, Richard Laymon, and Karen Rose.

Where can people find you on the web?
I haunt these places online:
Website: http://www.su-halfwerk.com
Blog: http://www.suhalfwerk.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Su.Halfwerk
Twitter: http://twitter.com/SuHalfwerk
Instagram: http://instagram.com/suhalfwerk/

Any final thoughts?
Thanks for the opportunity to visit your eHome. I enjoyed answering your questions and will love to hear from you and your readers.

Posted on May 28, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. C.A., I would like to thank you again the chance to be here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

