Interview With… Daniel Gray, author of Why Women Cheat

Hi folks. I am chatting to Daniel Gray, author of Why Women Cheat.

Daniel, What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
Honestly what inspires me to get out of bed every day is the future me. I’ve had an extremely difficult life, and the only constant is my wish to be whole and happy. This question lets me know how far I’ve come. I’m inspired to be a better me.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I would hang out with Neil Degrasse Tyson. I would talk to him about the universe, physics, and his personal challenges being a being black genius. There are theories that I would like to share with him and I would hope I could peak his interests.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
My book has two themes. The first is my personal experience of entering the world of the pickup artist. I started in the Pickup Artist community after teaching chess for twelve years. For me it was another learning endeavor. The second is attempting to use three anonymous female writers to display the elusive “Inner Woman.”

ebookcoverfinal
Tell us your writing process
I spend my time studying and pondering difficult questions and topics, and when I discover something amazing then I write about it.

Do you have any advice on what has and has not worked for you that you can share with other authors?
Promotion is a must, if you want to sell books. There are a number of things that I learned after completing this book. I wrote this book with utilizing free advertising; ie the media. The title is controversial, the topic is controversial, and the chapters are all controversial. This was the intent even before I began writing, the free advertising. Without trying very hard I was booked on 15 radio and podcast shows. What didn’t got as planned was the stereotyping that ensued. I learned a valuable media lesson, if you are willing to play a role, the media wants you. When people hear the term “Pick Up Artist” it engenders an image of an unscrupulous, manipulative, odd character. I was told beforehand in some places what they expected from me. The truth is there is only one body of knowledge out there about women, one of the most difficult things to deal with in most men’s lives. Most men I know, who are in the community, don’t fit the bill of what people expect for a Pickup Artist. If I would wear a funny hat, makeup, and black nail polish I would certainly get lots of airtime. Before you start writing, you will certainly need some controversy to get on the air, but consider the role they will expect you to play. If that’s not the role you are comfortable with, try again. This is where I am now. I love my book, but it’s not what people expect. My final advice for writers is this. Don’t worry about whether you make a best seller right now. Start writing your next book, because you are an awesome writer!

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I never dreamed that I’d be a writer. I spent about a decade dealing with severe PTSD. I did therapy, group therapy, pills, meditation, hypnosis, NLP, and anything I thought would help. My problem was all that I am, was trapped inside of me. One day I decided to write it all down as a form of therapy. To let it all out. The book was over 700 pages long. After I edited the hell out of it, it’s now only over 500 pages long. Honestly, it’s not a good read. Too many ideas mashed together. I still published it on Amazon, just for my own personal growth. Instead of saying how much my book was a failure, I realized that I had at least 10 different book ideas in that book; at least. “Why Women Cheat” was based on only two mentions in the giant book. I was right about the controversy, but I don’t like the negative attention. I don’t think I’m emotionally stable enough to fill the roll of a heel. In any case, I have many book ideas. It feels good to write and get myself out there. I don’t mind so much if I’m not super successful right now.

Tell us about your main character:
There are four characters, three anonymous female writers and I. Hmmm, they are real people.

What are you working on next?
I’m writing a book on the economic history of the United States. You may be wondering why would I go from a pickup artist book to economic theory. The truth is, economics and math are simple to understand. They are predictable and not at all terrifying. Economics is fun, but women are just a bit more fascinating.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I wouldn’t call it extraordinary but I can play the piano. I was apart of the famous chess team the “Raging Rooks” when I was in middle school. I have a degree in Mathematics from Vassar college. I’m a comedian, and I’m right now starting an acting career(I need to keep letting myself out.) I can sing and performed quite a bit. Also, I’m an expert Salsa dancer.

Who are your favorite authors?
I don’t have any favorites right now. When I’m intense about a subject, some of the best authors stand out. But I’m not intense about any studies right now.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Right now, I write in my free time. Soon, it will be writing and auditioning. Hopefully, I’ll start dancing salsa again soon.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
After I write my book about economics, I plan to write books about religion, physics, and personal identities. I do have more books in mind, but I think life may catch up to me somehow and sidetrack my plans.

Where can people find you on the web?
the website is thedanielgray.com. Mostly under construction. It will reflect my acting and books soon. You can of course follow me @harlemdragon

Any final thoughts?
Thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts and myself with you. It feel good to be at this moment in my life.

Posted on May 30, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

