Interview With Mort Herman

Hi folks. Today I am interviewing Mort Herman. Mort was a guest on my blog a few days ago, with his book release, Future’s Edge.

Mort, Tell our readers about you.….
Born and raised in Brooklyn, NY, I earned a Masters degree in Electrical Engineering and have worked in high-tech industry for 35 years. Throughout my tenure in Corporate America, I gained valuable insight into the business of technology and its revenue-generating capabilities.

Currently, I live on the Jersey shore. When I’m not writing, I am an avid sailor, a wood sculptor and a charter member of the Arts Society of Keyport. In the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, I designed and project managed the implementation of three, concrete free formed sculptures that replace destroyed public art in the town of Keyport, NJ. Currently, mosaic artists are applying glass to these sculptures, depicting points of interest around Keyport and the Raritan bay.

Mort Herman

What inspires you to get out of bed each day? 
Life is full of possibilities. I never know what each day will bring.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?  
James A. Michener. I am blown away at the detailed research he does for his books. When it comes to historical fiction, he is the master and has been a big influence in my writings.

What’s the story behind your latest book? 
Future’s Edge, the seed is a story about the future of our planet. It addresses many of the problems we face today from overpopulation, future energy sources, worldwide governments, technological addiction, greed, survival and human complacency.

1205288

Tell us your writing process.  
I am lucky to have a compelling storyline for my trilogy. It provides the boundaries for my writing, as I never have to worry about what to do next or how the story will end because I have it all in my head before I start to write. When I write, I have what I call an imaginative mode where I set down the sequences of the story, create characters and map out the flow. I give myself a lot of freedom. In another mode, I develop the characters, incorporate unexpected twists and create conflict. And of course there is the polishing phase where I smooth over the bumps, leading to a credible first read by my beta readers and then the editors. Many times, I choose which type of writing I want to do depending on many things. I could get a spark of inspiration or good idea and off I go, finding a way to integrate it into the book.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
Its funny because if someone told me when I was 25 years old that I would publish a Science Fiction Novel, I would have laughed. Then, all of a sudden (May 2012), an idea came to me and in 3 weeks, I had my compelling story. From that singular burst of creativity and inspiration, I have embarked on a mission to finish the trilogy. Book one (Future’s Edge, the seed) was published in September 2014 and I am nearly done with a good first draft of the second book (Future’s Edge, the discovery).

Tell us about your main character
Sam Greenhut, is a technical genus, coming from a long line of famous Greenhut scientists. In 2230, he is responsible for the Global Network, an entity that delivers unlimited energy and information to an insatiable, needy planet. With a backdrop of complete societal dependency on the Global Network, Sam clings to his humanity, preferring to interact with his fellow humans on a face-to-face basis, holding dearly to the principle of self-reliance. When Sam discovers dangers to the smooth operation of the Global Network, the corporate and governmental powers to be, ignore his warnings. Torn between his technical responsibility and his desire to escape his plight and family legacy, Sam is faced with decisions that will dictate the future of our planet.

What are you working on next? 
I am finishing the second book in the trilogy, called Future’s Edge, The Discovery.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
My imagination

Who are your favorite authors?  
James Michener, Isaac Asimov

What do you like to do with your free time?
Sailing, volunteer work.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books. 
The Trilogy

Where can people find you on the web?

My website is www.futuresedgebook.com
Facebook
Amazon
Linked-In
Goodreads

Any final thoughts? 
To me, writing is a very satisfying, learning endeavor. My story has naturally led me to research a variety of truly diversified topics. From ancient cultures (Inuit and native American), to botany, geology, future technology trends, Arctic exploration and seafaring vessels of the 18th and 19th centuries, each area, like a puzzle piece, has found its way into the novel. The story is the magnet that attracts these ideas, making for a richer final product. I have learned a lot, delving into areas I never thought I would go.

Posted on May 31, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

