Book Tour ~ Myth And Magic

Myth and Magic Banner

Title: Myth and Magic
Author: Mae Clair
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Format: Kindle
Myth and Magic

AS CHILDREN THEY PLAYED GAMES OF MYTH AND MAGIC…

Veronica Kent fell in love with Caith Breckwood when they were children. As a teenager, she was certain he was the man she was destined to marry. But a traumatic event from Caith’s past led him to fear a future together. He left Veronica, hoping to save her from a terrible fate. Twelve years later, Caith, now a P.I., is hired to investigate bizarre incidents at the secluded retreat Veronica manages. Returning to his hometown, Caith is forced to face his nightmares—and his feelings for the woman he’s always loved.

THEN ONE DAY THE MONSTERS BECAME REAL.

After the callous way Caith broke her heart, Veronica isn’t thrilled to see him again. But strange occurrences have taken a dangerous toll on business at Stone Willow Lodge. Forced to work together, Veronica discovers it isn’t ghostly apparitions that frighten her, but her passion for a man she has never forgotten. Or forgiven. Can two people with a tarnished past unearth a magical future?

PRE-ORDER INFORMATION

Myth and Magic is available for pre-order at AmazonB&N, Kobo and GooglePlay.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Mae Clair

Mae Clair opened a Pandora’s Box of characters when she was a child and never looked back.  Her father, an artist who tinkered with writing, encouraged her to create make-believe worlds by spinning tales of far-off places on summer nights beneath the stars.

Mae loves creating character-driven fiction in settings that vary from contemporary to mythical. Wherever her pen takes her, she flavors her stories with conflict, romance and elements of mystery. Married to her high school sweetheart, she lives in Pennsylvania and is passionate about writing, old photographs, a good Maine lobster tail and cats.

For More Information
Visit Mae’s website.
Connect with Mae on Twitter.

Interview with Mae Clair

Mae, tell us about you
Like many authors I work full-time (in the real estate field), I’m married to my high school sweetheart, and have been spinning tales since I was six. My books contain a mix of mystery, suspense, and romance, sometimes with paranormal or mythical elements woven through the plot. When I’m not writing, I love reading and devour books by the droves!

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
A great many things, but mostly the love of my life, my husband. He’s also my best friend and soul-mate.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I’ll go with the assumption they don’t have to be currently living, in which case my answer would be Robert F. Kennedy. I’m too young to really remember him, but I started reading about him on a whim a number of years ago. Since then, I’ve developed quite a library on him. I’m fascinated by all he tried to do for America, and especially, the downtrodden. His personality was such an interesting mix of fierce loyalty, fearless bull-dogged tenacity, and extreme compassion. I would love to talk to him!

What’s the story behind your latest book?
It’s a romantic suspense novel centered around bizarre happenings at secluded corporate lodge. My hero, Caith Breckwood, is hired to investigate the strange occurrences plaguing Stone Willow Lodge, but there are numerous complications. Caith’s family owns the lodge, and he’s been estranged from them for twelve years. Complicating things further, the lodge is managed by Veronica Kent, the only woman he ever loved—-but left. A tragedy from his past has kept him isolated in ways he doesn’t realize until he’s forced to face his ghosts.

Tell us your writing process
I always start with characters before plot. All of my fiction is heavily character-driven so my hero, heroine, and even secondary characters tend to make themselves known first. From there, I sketch out their backgrounds, what motivates them, and the obstacles they have to overcome. That in turn, gives me a bare-bones idea of a plot, and from there I start writing. I “pants” most of the novel but I do make detailed character outlines beforehand.

What has and has not worked for you that you can share with aspiring & upcoming authors?
The hardest thing for me has been finding my audience, because my plots are an equal blend of mystery and romance (with suspense tossed in). A lot of romance readers don’t want mystery, and a lot of mystery readers don’t want romance. I’ve always been enamored of both. I also tend to have strong secondary plots in every novel. Again, some readers prefer a singular focus on the H/h. If I wrote that way I would probably be far more successful, but I think secondary characters (and secondary plots) can really enrich a novel. Reviewers of my books have said I weave a lot of threads together for a concise (and happy) ending. Another said I juggle plots and put them together with ease. I take that as a high compliment, but I also think that way of writing can sometimes be a hindrance…especially for a new author.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I can’t remember a time when I didn’t write. I was constantly scribbling away in notebooks as a kid. My parents encouraged me, teachers encouraged me, I talked to professional authors (even as a teen), read books on writing and constantly created stories. I think the desire to be a writer has always been with me from the time I was in grade school.

Tell us about your main character:
Caith Breckwood has a lot of baggage in his past. He hasn’t spoken to his father or brother for twelve years. He left the one person he loved (Veronica Kent) as a teenager headed for college, and never turned back. He’s haunted by a childhood kidnapping that turned deadly and, as a result, has been living under the grip of guilt and fear for most of his life. An ex-cop, he’s now a private investigator returning to his hometown to confront ghosts…but not all of them are of the spiritual variety.

What are you working on next?
I have a novella coming out in late November called FOOD FOR POE. It’s a paranormal Christmas romance.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I wish. Does loving to dance count?

Who are your favorite authors?
Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (writing team), P.J. Parrish, Cassandra Clare, Jim Buchter, Kate Ellis

What do you like to do with your free time?
I have a side interest in myth, urban legends, folklore and cryptozoology (think Bigfoot and the Loch Ness Monster). In my free time, I like to research all of the above. I also enjoy yoga and aquatic exercises. And, of course, I am always reading something!

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
Right now I’m working on a mystery/suspense series set in Point Pleasant, West Virginia. Book 1 is complete and book 2 is in the research stage. I plan a three book series, with a light romantic plot in each. The novels are set in 1982 and reference events that took place in the late 60s involving UFOs, men-in-black and a creature called the Mothman. Each book has a standalone plot, the first book being a murder mystery.

Any final thoughts?
Thank you for having me as your guest today. It was a delight to be hear and share MYTH AND MAGIC with you!

Posted on June 17, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Okay, anyone who loves Preston and Child is a friend of mine. I’m such an Agent Pendergast fan!

    I love the combination of mystery and romance, so I have a feeling I’ll be reading all your books! 🙂

  2. Thanks for checking out my interview, Debbie. So glad you’re enjoy Myth! 🙂

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed the interview and I am thoroughly enjoying the book!

  4. Many thanks for having me on your blog today. It’s a delight to be here and share the news about Myth and Magic. Just to clarify….the book is available now at all booksellers. It’s release day was June 9th. Thanks! 🙂

  5. Hi, Carmen. Thanks for dropping by and reading. It was definitely a fun interview and I enjoyed doing it!

  6. Great interview, Mae. I feel like I know you a little better now. I’m a big fan of yours, as you know! Thanks for sharing. Hugs!
    Carmen

Leave a Reply

