Book Tour ~ The Shiva Syndrome

The Shiva Syndrome Book Banner

Title: The Shiva Syndrome
Author: Alan Joshua
Publisher: Champagne Books
Genre: Science Fiction
Format: Kindle

A secret Russian mind research laboratory in Podol’sk erupts, annihilating thousands and leaving a monstrous, one-mile deep crater in its wake. Beau Walker, parapsychologist and reluctant empath, is coerced into joining a research team, code-named SHIVA, to investigate the enigmatic event.

Walker must fight his way past political and military deceptions and a host of deadly adversaries to unlock the riddle of the SHIVA syndrome. Will he have the physical, emotional, and spiritual strength to defy the dangers he faces…or will they destroy him before he can come to a new, challenging understanding of the nature of reality?

Purchase The SHIVA Syndrome:
Amazon.com
B&N

Reviews:

1.    Surprising, suspenseful, and utterly superb read….Any attempt to describe the book in a single statement is difficult, but the book mixes uncommon palettes and manages a masterpiece with it.” Self-Publishing Review.

2.    [The SHIVA Syndrome is] very highly recommended, indeed; especially for thriller and sci-fi readers who have become deluged with too much predictability and who seek cutting-edge action, believable protagonists, and action that is solidly intense throughout. Midwest Book Review

3.    “…a unique mixture of paranormal, science fiction, thriller and mystery. The story was amazingly developed to keep the reader attentive and on their toes constantly and always guessing where the plot is heading up until the very end.” LittlePinkCrayon

4.    “THE SHIVA SYNDROME rewards the reader with a return to intelligent speculative fiction writing in the vein of Crichton, Rollins and Cussler.” darkmediaonline.com

5.    “Bottom line: “The Shiva Syndrome” is a very intense and detail rich novel – a book I could easily see being made into a film (Christopher Walken as Grimes?). I do recommend this book to sci-fi fans, and readers who love a well-written book packed full with action.” Around the World in Books

Alan Joshua

As a native Philadelphian, Alan Joshua (pen name) has the appropriate fondness for soft pretzels and cheesesteaks. He is married, has two grown children, and lives in the suburbs. He is currently a practicing Clinical Psychologist with a background in Forensic Psychology.

His diverse background includes working in a State penitentiary and mental institution, a sleep laboratory, and a pain management center.

Joshua has published many nonfiction journal articles. The Shiva syndrome, his debut fiction novel, is a science fiction/paranormal mystery and thriller.

Always curious about the unknowns of human experience, he is fascinated with creativity and paranormal abilities. This led to his involvement with Psychology and research into Parapsychology.

He has explored paranormal abilities using hypnosis and in-depth interviewing of a wide range of practitioners. Among his prized possessions are a shriveled, mummified banana (a product of one healer’s biopsychokinesis) and a small, curled Austrian teaspoon produced by a German healer while six people sat around him. (see http://alanjoshua.com/biopsychokinesis )

The Shiva Syndrome incorporates his knowledge of Parapsychology and experiences with healers, intuitives, “psychic” sensitives, etc.

Unsurprisingly, he is a science fiction fan and has been influenced by such writers as Asimov, Bradbury, Crichton, Heinlein, Serling, and the extraordinary genius of Phillip Dick.

As an avid Star Trek fan, he is fond of contradicting Gene Roddenberry, believing that human consciousness and its potentials are “the final frontier.”

If you have questions for me, I would be glad to answer them–time permitting. I’d like to hear from you if you’ve had any paranormal experiences.

For More Information

Visit Alan at his website

INTERVIEW:

Thanks Alan for being here today. Tell our readers what inspires you to get out of bed each day?
The infinite possibilities each day holds. Will inspiration strike? Will the book go viral? Will Spielberg or Ridley Scott call? Just kidding of course.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
Tough question. Mahatma Ghandi, among many, many others. He was a courageous and non-violent man of transcendent wisdom—and he had a sense of humor.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
It was inspired by real research I did into paranormal healing. In the story, science opens the door for humans to reach God-like powers of creation and destruction. A secret Russian mind research laboratory erupts, annihilating thousands and leaving a monstrous, one-mile deep crater in its wake.

Beau Walker, a psychologist and reluctant empath, is coerced into joining a research project, code-named SHIVA, to investigate the catastrophe. An ordinary scientific investigation leads Walker and the research team into alternate realities. To my delight, Dr. Stanley Krippner, a leading parapsychologist, endorsed it.

Tell us your writing process:
For the most part, it’s driven by inspiration coming from who knows where? Honestly, much of the story was directed by the characters who led me, sometimes grudgingly, in a certain direction. At least that’s through much of the first draft. Amazingly, in rewriting I found depths and surprises that were jaw-dropping. As a psychologist, familiar elements began to gel in ways I’d never considered before. Now, I was conceptualizing them through the minds of characters.

What promotional efforts has worked for you that you can share with other authors?
I find it very awkward giving advice. I wrote a page on my website at http://alanjoshua.com about creativity and the writing process. Forced to give at least one suggestion, it would be to ready yourself for writing blocks. Have more than one project going and “change horses” when you hit a persistent block. Sometime the conscious mind becomes, say, log-jammed. Putting the one project on the backburner can free up the subconscious. Trust it to continue working for you.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
Of all places, in a mental institution. I desperately needed another reality beyond the confines of my limitations as a social worker. Drawing or writing my imaginations became a bona fide need. I produced, “Father of the Sun,” an unpublished book on cloning (before it became well known) while there.

Tell us about your main character:
Beau Walker is a complex man. With an African-American mother and Mohawk father, his upbringing was, at the least, complicated. But he also has innate paranormal abilities—including healing and empathic unions with people–that made his early life even more difficult. I’d rather not give away any more. Beau really should be discovered in the pages of The SHIVA Syndrome. A one blogger put it, “whatever you’re thinking, think again.”
One important aspect of Walker is that he’s set into as real a world as possible according to parapsychological research and physics theory. I guess that’s why one Amazon reader said, “None of This Is Real! Really! I Hope!” His acceptance of the possible reality was a pleasure.

What are you working on next?
I’ve toyed with two or three. One reader pleaded for a sequel and prequel, so they’re viable ideas. Another is a paranormal murder mystery.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
The one spoken of the most by mentors in education is intuition. I consider that an extension of imagination. It’s almost a feel that something is probable. Admittedly, my logical mind does battle with it. When it’s tied in with a strong gut reaction, that overrides logic.

Who are your favorite authors?
Oh, there are so many. Asimov, Bradbury, Crichton, Clarke, Heinlein, to name a few. Shakespeare, however, has it all. In his collected works, he covers virtually every type of human experience in the most delicious phrasings, including the paranormal: Macbeth, Hamlet. If he were writing sci-fi today, no doubt her would reign.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Watch film after film, except for occasional TV gems, like Hannibal. Give me vacation time and I love cruising and snorkeling.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I’ve already mentioned possible ideas in development. It’s too soon to say any more.

Where can people find you on the web? 
My website is http://alanjoshua.com ; Alan Joshua on Facebook. Twitter is @alan_joshua414.

Any final thoughts?
Only the hope that other readers will enter the world of The SHIVA Syndrome. I believe the reviews on Amazon and Goodreads speak for themselves. While the novel is considered by some to be science fiction, other call it a mystery or thriller. What is most important is that readers realize that there is a world of real paranormal abilities that has been researched since the 1920s. It’s far more exciting and rich with possibilities than anyone could realize. That’s what I tried to bring to the table.

Advertisements

Posted on June 17, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: