Book Tour ~ Forbidden Darkness by Alec John Belle

forbiddendarknessbanner

About the Book
Title: Forbidden Darkness
Author: Alec John Belle
Genre: YA Paranormal / Fantasy

22840122

Being a sixteen year old Monster Hunter sucks. That’s what Heather Hawkins learns just days before her sixteenth birthday. After dealing with her best friend, Kristen’s, attempted suicide, the last thing Heather wants is any more drama. When the realistic dreams of Heather being haunted by a guy named Kadin begin, she learns the truth. She is a Monster Hunter, and on her birthday, she will undergo a change that will make her stronger, more powerful, and nearly invincible to Monsters. Along with having a hot new trainer named Philip, she believes that this will be a new beginning for herself. Unfortunately, Monsters aren’t the only thing Heather needs to worry about. With someone stalking her dreams, she realizes there may be more than just Monsters in the world, and that Kadin will do anything to stop her from helping the Monster Hunters. Even if that means unleashing an entity that was locked away by his people thousands of years ago. In this all-new paranormal young adult series, romances will be formed, evil becomes unleashed, and everyone Heather loves will soon be at risk. Because in a world where Monsters walk the earth, anything is possible.

Author Bio

821_0.189796001430417868_img_3691

Alec John Belle is an online high school student that resides in the state of Massachusetts. At the age of 16 he wrote his first novel, Before I Break. His hobbies include reading, writing, and obsessing over Pretty Little Liars. He writes about tough topics that many are too afraid to talk about like suicide, homosexuality, self harm, cyberbullying, anxiety disorders, addiction, among other teenage issues, and he often blends these ideas with the paranormal.

Links
https://alecjohnbelle.wordpress.com
https://www.facebook.com/alecbellefanpage

INTERVIEW

Alec, tell our readers about you –
My name is Alec and I am 17 years old.  I wrote my first book at 16 and self-published it at 17.  At 17, I wrote the first book in The Forbidden Darkness Chronicles for about the 6th time.  In my free time I like reading and watching anything on ABC Family (mostly Pretty Little Liars–I’m a little obsessed).  I am still in high school and should be graduating next year.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
My writing is definitely something.  I love being able to write and hear from readers.  I also have a really strong drive with school, and even though I do it online, knowing I’m at the end of my high school years pushes me to keep going.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
This will probably sound really cheesy, but I would meet Keegan Allen from Pretty Little Liars.  He seems like one of the coolest guys ever, and I don’t really have many guy friends.  So it’d definitely be him if it were at all possible.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
My latest book, Forbidden Darkness, is the first book in my series The Forbidden Darkness Chronicles.  I came up with the idea about four or five years ago when I went on a hayride at a Halloween event at a plantation in South Carolina.  While I was on it, it was like this whole world formed in my head.  It was a lot of fun for sure.  While things have definitely changed and there is no hayride scene in the first book, I will have one later on.

Tell us your writing process.
My writing process is different for everything I write.  For my first book, Before I Break (which re-releases under Booktrope this summer) I just wrote it as I went along.  I knew the ending, but nothing in between.  For The Forbidden Darkness Chronicles, I had to make a plot outline with very basic points, that way I don’t forget anything later.  I’ll sit at my computer for a few hours at a time and just go.

Do you have any advice on what has and has not worked for you that you can share with other authors?
I’ve noticed that promoting your work in promotion groups on Facebook doesn’t work at all.  The reason why is because the groups mainly consist of other authors, so you’re just promoting to other authors who are too busy promoting their own work.  Blogging, Twitter, and Facebook are definitely the best ways to promote.  Make sure you have an AUTHOR page on Facebook, not one for your book.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I realized I wanted to be a writer when I was in fifth grade.  We had to do a free write one day, and at the time I read the Goosebumps books by R.L. Stine.  I wrote this creepy (and probably not appropriate for a fifth grader) short story called “The Eye of the Fortune Teller”. My teacher loved it so I wrote more stories throughout that year.  I won an award at the school’s award’s ceremony for Most Likely to Be An Author, I believe.  It was for a short story I wrote about a person who turned into an alien.  Then they wake up and it was a dream, and they actually are an alien, and the “nightmare” was the fact that they had once been human.  Something along those lines.  My teacher got a kick out of it.

Tell us about your main character:
The main character of Forbidden Darkness is Heather Hawkins.  She’s sarcastic and her humor is extremely dry.  She says things out loud and in her head that aren’t really supposed to be funny, but people tend to laugh at it.  I think she got that from me.  She also does things without thinking, even if that means putting herself in danger.

What are you working on next?
Right now I’m working on getting Before I Break re-released for the summer, but I’m also writing the second book in The Forbidden Darkness Chronicles.  The plan is to have that out before the end of the year.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents? 
Honestly, I’m pretty boring.  But I always wanted to be an actor when I was younger.  If I wasn’t a writer, that’s probably the creative route I’d go.

Who are your favorite authors?
There’s so many it’s not even funny.  Kim Harrison is my favorite in the adult paranormal genre, but Rachel Vincent did an amazing job with her Shifters series.  For paranormal YA I would say Julie Kagawa, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Cate Tiernan.  Ellen Hopkins is my favorite contemporary YA author.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Read, write, and try to figure out who the heck “A” is on Pretty Little Liars.  (As I said, I’m pretty obsessed…get it…pretty…I’m terrible at jokes.)

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I plan to have the second book in TFDC out before the year’s over, and then three more next year.  The series is planned to have 8 books and I want to have it done in at least three years.

Where can people find you on the web?
People can find me on Facebook on my author page (I no longer accept friend requests), Twitter @AlecBelle, and my blog at www.alecjohnbelle.wordpress.com.

Posted on July 6, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

