Book Tour ~ Bigfoot Blues

 

Bigfoot Blues banner 2

Title: Bigfoot Blues
Author: Ricardo Sanchez
Publisher: Carina Press
Pages: 251
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Format: Kindle

She eloped with Bigfoot. Or maybe Bigfoot kidnapped her. Either way, I’ve been hired to uncover the truth behind Cindy Funk’s disappearance. Me? I’m Floyd, and I’m a PI living my life as Elvis would have wanted. Not just in sequined jumpsuits. With character.

Cindy’s trail leads me to River City, Oregon—aka the Mythical Creature Capital of the World—where I catch Case #2. This one from an eccentric billionaire who’s lost a priceless piece of “art.” Enter one dead body and I end up deputized to solve Case #3, tracking down a man-eating mountain lion. Or maybe it’s a chupacabra. Or just an ordinary murderer. Hard to say.

I’ve handled my fair share of crazy, but River City’s secrets have me spooked. With an influx of tourists arriving for the town’s annual Elvis tribute contest—what are the chances?—I’ve got to save the girl, solve the rich guy’s problem and leash that chupacabra before a second body is discovered. It might just be mine.

Read more about Floyd’s adventures in Elvis Sightings, available now!

Bigfoot Blues is available at Amazon. Pick up your copy at Barnes & Noble.

Bigfoot Blues

About The Author

Ricardo-Sanchez-2-300x300

Ricardo Sanchez is a writer, toy buff, and lifelong comic book fan.

Elvis Sightings, the first novel in his Elvis Sightings Mysteries series, was released in September , 2014. Bigfoot Blues, the follow up, was released in May, 2015.

Ricardo has written several books for DC Comics, including Batman: Legends of the Dark Knight, Teen Titans Go! and Resident Evil among many others. His original project, A Hero’s Death, was a successful Kickstarter released in May, 2015. In addition to writing, Ricardo is an Emmy award winning video and animation producer. When he’s not writing, Ricardo maintains a vintage toy blog, drives 70′s muscle cars, and shops year round for Halloween decorations for his home in California.

Visit Ricardo Sanchez’s website.
Connect with Ricardo on Facebook and Twitter.
Find out more about Ricardo at Goodreads.

Book Excerpt

It was ten past two on a Wednesday and I was sitting behind my desk in the office I share with Franklin, a chiropractor. His wife had sent me looking for him almost four years ago, but she was such a harridan that once I’d found him, I couldn’t bring myself to turn over his location. He’d let me use his place as an office, rent-free, ever since.

I checked my watch again.

Wanda was flying back to Kresge today. I resented being dragged away from her, even for just an hour, but the man on the phone had insisted. It had been more than a month since my last case, so while Wanda packed, I came into the office to meet Peter Funk. And he was late.

The clock hit 2:15. I was about to leave when a very lost-looking man in his fifties opened the door.

“You must be Floyd,” he said, taking off his well-worn Caterpillar cap. His bald head had the baked look of someone who spent a lot of time under the hot Idaho sun. “Your Elvis outfit kinda gives it away,” he added.

“You’re Mr. Funk?”

He smiled weakly and bobbed his head up and down in the affirmative.

I pointed him to a seat and sat back down at my desk.

“So what can I do for you?” I asked.

Funk looked down at the cap in his hands and worried at a loose thread with his callused fingers.

“I need you to find my daughter,” he said and looked up at me. “You’ve got to help me. I don’t know who else to turn to.”

“I’d be happy to help, Mr. Funk, but with missing children you’re much better off going to the police.”

Funk stood up and slapped his hat against his thigh. A small cloud of dirt erupted from the dull blue denim of his pants.

“Oh, the cops won’t help me. Cindy’s eighteen. They said they can’t go looking for her if she’s just run off,” he said. “Besides…”

“Besides what, Mr. Funk?”

He took his seat again before finally blurting out, “She ran off to elope with Bigfoot.”

I would have laughed if Funk hadn’t looked so worried.

“Bigfoot?” I said. “That’s a nickname?”

“No, sir.”

Funk pulled a postcard out of his jeans pocket and handed it to me.

On one side was a teenage boy holding up a plaster casting of a giant footprint nearly three feet long. Across the bottom it read “River City—The Home of Bigfoot.” I turned it over. The postmark was three weeks ago in River City, Oregon. The note on the card read:

Dear Daddy,

I’ve fallen in love with Bigfoot and we’ve decided to elope. I won’t be coming back to Pocatello. I’ll write again soon.

Cindy

She’d put a little heart in place of the dot above the is in both Bigfoot and Cindy.

River City… The name was familiar, but I couldn’t quite place it.

“My girl, she’s a willful one she is, but Cindy’s never lied to me. Not once,” Funk said. “If Cindy says she’s eloped with Bigfoot, that’s exactly what she’s done.”

Why did I get all the weirdos? Was it the suit? Or the Lifestyle Elvis thing? Or maybe this was some sort of elaborate practical joke. I let out a low sigh.

A case is a case, I told myself. And this one was just too absurd to be someone shining me on.

Bigfoot Blues teaser

INTERVIEW

Ricardo, thanks for being my guest today. Tell our readers about you.
I’m a Libra. I’m not big into astrology, but I kind of dig it that I’m the only sign that isn’t an animal. I’m a huge fan of Halloween and am always on the lookout for something new to add to the annual creepshow. I’ve worked at all kinds of things, from broadcast television to video game development, but I’ve always been a writer. Pretty much since I figured out how to type, I’ve been working on something. I started out with (terrible) short fiction, but then shifted to playwriting and screen-writing. Then, back in 1995, I discovered the Internet and starting blogging back when it was just called having a home page. In the last few years though, I’ve really started to focus on narrative writing again. I’m now an irregular writer for DC Comics and have somehow managed to get two novels published. I’m still in shock about that.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
It’s mostly the alarm clock. I like to sleep in. But once I accept that I am going to get up, there’s quite literally no end of things I want to do. I still maintain the vintage toy blog I’ve had since 1996. I’m a big fan of video games, so I’ve been slowly working on building a home arcade system. Someday I’ll finish it. And then there’s the writing. I have a love/hate relationship with it. I feel compelled to do it, but it is so hard to get started.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
That one’s easy, Elvis. Early 70’s era. There are a lot of other much more worthy famous people, but I’m not really deep enough to enjoy spending a full day with someone like Abraham Lincoln or Socrates. Everything I’ve ever read about Elvis is that he was a really nice guy and he enjoyed having a good time. A day with Elvis would almost certainly involve some good food, probably BBQ, a lot of other interesting people, and some great music. I wouldn’t come away from it a better person, but it would be a hell of a fun day.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Bigfoot Blues is the sequel to my first novel, Elvis Sightings. It’s about Floyd, a private detective who is also a Lifestyle Elvis – he lives his life the way he thinks Elvis would want him to. In Elvis Sightings, Floyd goes to Kresge, a little town in the middle of nowhere Wyoming to find Elvis, who he believes is still alive. He meets a lot of dead celebrities and the members of an old Italian family circus who have retired to Kresge. In the process he meets a girl, gets beaten up a lot, and makes a few friends. One of them, a querulous acrobatic little person, becomes his sidekick in the latest book. Bigfoot Blues picks up a few months after the events in Elvis Sightings. Floyd takes a case that sends him to River City, Oregon, to search for a girl who may have eloped with Bigfoot. He also gets pulled into a search for some missing cryptotaxidermy (stuffed animals that never really existed, like jackalopes,) and is asked by the local PD to help deal with a wild animal that might be a cougar. Or a chupacabra. It’s hard to know for sure.

Tell us your writing process. 
It used to be very free form. With Elvis Sightings, I had an idea of what I wanted to write, and I just started on page 1. It ultimately ended up taking me about six years to get that novel finished. But now I’m a LOT more methodical. I actually use Microsoft Excel to build detailed plot sheets complete with multiple story tracks. I fully write out my ending before I go back to start on page 1. The ending almost always changes, but it gives me a beacon to aim for as I’m writing. I end up wasting a ton less time that way. But everything I write, whether it’s a novel or a comic book, starts with a question. What would happen if? Most of the time, the answer isn’t that interesting, but when I end up with something good, it becomes a story.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I was seven or eight. Star Wars had come out and every toy I got for Christmas or my birthday was a space themed one. Micronauts, Rom the Space Knight, Metal Men, a whole bunch of others. I created detailed scenarios for my toys to act out. My first stories. I even wrote a ten page story about an underground empire of smart bugs that wanted to take over the planet. And I took every opportunity to make up elaborate tales (lies really) to tell adults when they would ask me pretty simple questions. Teacher: Where’s your homework? Me: Well, I was going to do my homework, but when I was watering the lawn, a queen bee flew by and begged me for help…You get the idea. Adults didn’t appreciate my stories, but it was pretty obvious I was going to be making things up as an adult too.

Tell us about your main character:
Floyd is an everyman. He has simple tastes. He’s smart, but no Sherlock Holmes. He has to work for a living. And he’s really just trying to figure out how to make it through life. What makes him different is the fact that he tries to live his life by a unique code. He’s a Lifestyle Elvis. If you know much about Elvis beyond the music, he had a pretty folksy wisdom. Things like don’t judge others if you haven’t walked in their shoes. Family is everything, but sometimes family isn’t someone you related to. And don’t do drugs. He didn’t always live up to his own standards, but they’re still good sentiments to live by and Floyd does exactly that. When in doubt, he just asks himself, What would Elvis do? But living by this code, and wearing sequined jumpsuits, present special challenges. It’s harder to find clients, for example. That’s why Floyd has to accept the case when a potato farmer comes to his office claiming his daughter eloped with Bigfoot and begs Flody to go find her.

What are you working on next?
Two things that are completely different than the Elvis Sightings Mysteries. The first is a book of illustrated zombie poetry. If you know Edward Gorey, it’s in that vein. I’m going to publish it through a Kickstarter later this year. The second is a zombie novel, but not the post-apocalyptic kind. It’s about a zombie who’s a lot like you and me. He has feelings. Hopes and dreams. He longs for someone to love. But none of that is easy to get when you’re a rotting corpse. The book is about his coming to grips with being a zombie and trying to figure out who he was before he woke up on a slab at a mortuary.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
You know, I don’t! I am extraordinarily unspecial. I always wanted to be double jointed or be a rock star with a yo-yo or something like that, but I’m pretty vanilla. I even prefer vanilla icecream. About the closest I can come to an extraordinary talent is that I have a perverse ability to remember pretty much every movie or TV show I’ve ever seen. And I’ve seen a lot!

Who are your favorite authors?
Philip K. Dick is probably my single favorite writer. His obsession with identity led him down some really fascinating paths. But it’s writers like Agatha Christie, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Raymond Chandler and Edgar Allen Poe that have had the most impact on me over the years. But honestly, my bookshelf is packed with the works of a number of authors. I’ve got pretty much everything that Andre Norton wrote, as well as everything from Jack Vance, James Blish, and H.P. Lovecraft. I’m drawn to authors who create new worlds I could never otherwise see.

What do you like to do with your free time?
I love watching movies. Thanks to Netflix and Hulu, I’ve been working my way through all the Chinese, Korean and Japanese films I can find. Hulu has the Criterion film collection and I’m trying to watch every film in the library.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
Aside from the zombie stuff, I do have a third book in mind for Floyd, although it would be a departure from the first two. I’m a huge fan of Agatha Christie and I’ve always wanted to write a proper manor house mystery. I think I have murder worthy of the attempt that only Floyd could solve.

 

Any final thoughts?
Thanks so much for letting me spend some time with you and your readers! I really appreciate it.

 

Posted on July 8, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

