Book Tour ~ Second Chronicles of Illumination by C.A.Pack

Second-Chronicles-of-Illumination

Title: Second Chronicles of Illumination
Author: C.A. Pack
Publisher: Antiqua Press
Pages: 480
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Kindle/Hardcover

When an alien invasion threatens the existence of all the knowledge in the universe, eighteen-year-old Johanna Charette and seventeen-year-old Jackson Roth must rely on their wits, guts, and pluck to save the fantasy-come-to-life world of the Library of Illumination. It wouldn t be so bad if Johanna and Jackson weren t the ones responsible for breaching the portals to a dozen distant worlds. Now, outside forces are causing shock waves in the space-time continuum, and if that isn t awful enough, someone from another dimension is trying to steal a book of powerful spells created by a very famous wizard. At first, traveling to other realms in a time machine seems like a fun perk. However, discovering some inhabitants want to obliterate the teens doesn’t leave them with a warm, fuzzy feeling. Instead, they find themselves forced to sacrifice their own welfare and the safety of their loved ones for the greater good.

Second-Chronicles-of-Illumination1-187x300

ORDER INFORMATION

Second Chronicles of Illumination is available for purchase at Amazon and B&N. Add to your Goodreads shelf.

About The Author

Carol-Pack

C. A. Pack is the author of the Library of Illumination series of YA fantasy novelettes, along with Chronicles: The Library of Illumination (2014), and The Second Chronicles of Illumination (coming in 2015).

Pack also writes for a general audience. Her first novel, Code Name: Evangeline—is an historical spy thriller which takes place in the 1930′s. The author followed it up with Evangeline’s Ghost—a fantasy about the death of that same spy. She recently completed work on Evangeline’s Ghost: Houdini, and is currently working on Evangeline’s Ghost: The Bridge.

Pack is an award winning journalist from New York who worked as an anchor/reporter and educator (she considers herself the fairy-godmother of telvision news reporters)—and has written for WNBC, LI News Tonight and News 12 Long Island. She also worked on PBS documentaries, radio and television commercials and created and produced a pilot for a news show focusing solely on marriage and wedding trends.

She’s a past president of the Press Club of Long Island and a proud member of International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. Pack has been a speaker or panelist for organizations such as Women in Communications, Fair Media Council, and the Society of Professional Journalists.

The author lives with her husband and two picky parrots “on” Long Island, New York.

For More Information Visit C.A.’s website.

Twitter

INTERVIEW

C.A. Thanks for being here today. Tell our readers about you
I’m the author of the Library of Illumination series, as well Evangeline’s Ghost. I’ve always been a writer with a vivid imagination, and I love to create mysterious adventures, especially young adult fantasy. The beauty of writing fantasy is it allows me to explore and share worlds that only exist in my imagination. I used to write news, but it wasn’t nearly as much fun, so I happily traded in my press pass for the opportunity to be more creative.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
I’m what is known as a ”pantser.” I write by the seat of my pants, rather than plot out each detail. So every day I’m excited to see where the story takes me. In Second Chronicles of Illumination, there’s a scene in Myrddin’s Memoir where Johanna breaks her ankle. I didn’t know that was going to happen when I woke up that morning, and I didn’t know how her broken ankle was going to impact the story when I went to sleep that night. I get out of bed each day, anxious to see where the story is going.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I’d like to hang out with Charles Dickens. We share a birthday (February 7th). We both write episodically. And we’ve both self-published (Dickens self-published A Christmas Carol). I’d love to pick his brain about how he thought he was doing at each stage of his career, and find out if he was a plotter or a pantser.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
I write episodically and often in short form (novelettes and novellas), so my current book, Second Chronicles of Illumination, contains a novelette, a novella, and a novel, all seamlessly following the same story line in the Library of Illumination. It starts out with the discovery of libraries of illumination on different worlds—libraries that are similar‑but also quite different, as are the beings from each world. My last full-length book, Chronicles: The Library of Illumination, ended with the story Portals in which Johanna and Jackson, the curators of the Library of Illumination on Earth discover a plot by one race to invade the other libraries and take them over. That theme carries through to my current book in which they continue to fight the invasion, while also searching for whomever (or whatever) is trying to steal the spell book of a very famous sorcerer. And just to make things easier, I included Portals in the Second Chronicles of Illumination so readers unfamiliar with the storyline would have everything they need right there.

Tell us your writing process
Before I can start writing each day, I need to answer my email, or I’ll be distracted for the rest of the day knowing it’s there waiting for me. Once that’s done, I open up my manuscript and read what I wrote the previous day, editing as I go along. It refreshes my memory and allows me to pick up writing where I left off. I try to write at least 1,000 words a day. That’s not much, 3 or 4 pages, but it’s a minimum to keep the book going. I’ve been known to write full chapters in a day, but that doesn’t always come easily, so I find setting a minimum helps me keep it fresh and prevents me from losing my train of thought. Once I start writing, I refuse to answer the phone, or return to my email. I’m easily distracted, so I literally shut myself in my office to write and reject disruptions by the outside world.

What promotional efforts has worked for you that you can share with aspiring & upcoming authors?
I’ve tried “blogging” my book, which is how the Library of Illumination got its start. Blogging forced me to write a chapter a week because I had an audience waiting to read it. The first book was just supposed to be a short story, but grew into a novelette that begged a sequel. The second book was longer than the first, and cried “series.” By the third one I was going strong until members of my writers’ group told me I shouldn’t be giving the stories away on a blog if I ever wanted to publish them as a “novel.” So I stopped blogging after book three. Blogging kept me writing and allowed me to see the potential in what I was writing.

What doesn’t work for me is doing my own marketing and promotion. I find it takes a lot of time away from writing, so aside from periodic Goodread’s giveaways, I’ll give my books one big push when they first come out, but stop after a month so I can concentrate on the next book. I’m told this isn’t the best way to do it, but it’s the way “I” have to do it to get anything done.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I wrote my first story in the second grade. I don’t know if I “realized” I wanted to be a writer. I just did it because I wanted to. In the third grade I got my first library card and discovered the joys of reading. After that I knew I would be a writer.

Tell us about your main character:
My main character is Johanna Charette. She is 17-years-old in the first Library of Illumination book. That’s when she first discovers and becomes curator of the library. In book two, she hires 16-year-old Jackson Roth because she needs an assistant to help her run the place. Now, the two share equal weight as the main characters. Johanna is a bit of a loner. She’s thoughtful, intelligent and organized. Jackson is very outgoing. He’s funny, a quick thinker, and he’s willing to bend the rules. They complement each other and there’s a romance brewing between them that Jackson wants to take to the next level, but Johanna seems hesitant about.

What are you working on next?
I recently started work on the Third Chronicles of Illumination, which may, or may not, conclude the plot to invade the libraries. I try to stay true to the main premise of the library being a place where books come to life, but I also like the idea of an invasion threat running through the stories as a common thread.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I’d like to be able to say I’m a concert pianist or Academy Award winner, but I can’t. Writing is my special talent. I used to be a fairly decent artist, and sold a few painting, but I’m a better writer than artist, so now I just paint pictures with my words.

Who are your favorite authors?
Charles Dickens, as I mention above. Frances Hodgsen Burnett who wrote The Secret Garden. Catherine Coulter writes great FBI thrillers. Steve Berry and James Rollins also write great thrillers. I enjoy Anne Perry’s historical novels. And who doesn’t love J. K. Rowling?

What do you like to do with your free time?
I love to travel. I’ve been to several countries and more than three-quarters of the states in the U.S. I love the way people are so different and yet in so many ways are the same. And I believe experiencing different cultures helps round me out as a writer.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.

Aside from the Third Chronicles of Illumination, I’m also hoping to publish a novella that I’ve already written, but not yet published: Evangeline’s Ghost Meets Houdini.

Where can people find you on the web?
You can find me at:
www.libraryofillumination.com
www.facebook.com/libraryofillumination
@IlluminationCAP
www.youtube.com/user/ArtiquaPress

Any final thoughts?
Read. Please. If not me, someone else. If you don’t want to buy books, borrow them from the library. But read. It will set your imagination free.

 

Posted on July 13, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

