Book Tour ~ Overcoming Anxiety by David Berndt

Overcoming-Anxiety-banner

Title: Overcoming Anxiety
Author: David Berndt, Ph.D.
Publisher: David Berndt, Ph.D.
Pages: 110
Genre: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Format: Kindle

The good news is that anxiety can be overcome without relying on medication. Psychologist David Berndt, Ph.D., in Overcoming Anxiety outlines several self-help methods for management of anxiety and worry. In clear simple language and a conversational style, Dr. Berndt shares with the reader powerful step by step proven techniques for anxiety management.

You will learn:

  • A Self-hypnosis grounding technique in the Ericksonian tradition.
  • Box Breathing, Seven Eleven and similar breathing techniques for anxiety relief.
  • How to stop or interrupt toxic thoughts that keep you locked in anxiety.
  • How to harness and utilize your worries, so they work for you.
  • Relief from anxiety through desensitization and exposure therapy.

The book was designed to be used alone as self-help or in conjunction with professional treatment Dr. Berndt draws upon his experience as a clinician and academic researcher to give accessible help to the reader who wants to understand and manage their anxiety.

Overcoming Anxiety

For More Information

Overcoming Anxiety is available at Amazon.
Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.

About The Author

David-Berndt-300x285

David J. Berndt, Ph.D. was an Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Chicago where he published or presented over 80 papers and articles before establishing a private practice. Dr. Berndt currently lives in Charleston, S.C. where he also teaches in an adjunct capacity at the College of Charleston. He is best known for his psychological tests The Multiscore Depression Inventory, and the Multiscore Depression Inventory for Children, both from Western Psychological Services.

His latest book is the nonfiction self-help, Overcoming Anxiety.

For More Information

Visit David Berndt’s website.
Connect with David on Facebook and Twitter.
Visit David’s blog.

Author Interview

David. Thanks for being here today. Tell us about you
I am a clinical psychologist by day, and an author after hours. I live in beautiful Charleston, SC.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
I really like not only being able to make a difference in the lives of my clients, but being able to learn new things every day to improve my craft (both my therapy and my writing).

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I am pretty sure my first choice would be Meher Baba, the man who is probably most famous for the “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” quote that Bobby McFerrin turned into a song.. As far as I can tell he was probably not only the most loving and compassionate man of his time, but also the most fun. Second choice would probably be Ernest Hemmingway, especially if the Spanish civil war was still raging.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Up until now all my publications were aimed at colleagues, but I realized that much of what I have learned over the past 20 years was from my clients, and they have taught me ways to improve and make my interventions more effective. It seemed like sharing some of that knowledge with a wider audience would be helpful. This book is actually the first in the Psychology Knowledge series, and I am committed to doing at least three more.

Tell us your writing process
I actually have a full private practice and a full social life, so in order to write this book, I had to seriously cut back on poker playing. I usually write, at most, in three or four hour blocks, supported by plenty of caffeine.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I have always written, but mostly for my colleagues. The idea to write for the public grew from a confluence of two lines of experience: First, as I mentioned above, I wanted to share more widely what I had learned practically over the years. The other factor was that I had supported a family member’s literary career by doing her publicity, even winning an award for that effort. So, I was somewhat confident that I could get the word out and the book would be read.

What are you working on next?
I have a series of books coming out, with one scheduled for late October that I am still working on and that addresses Special Topics in Anxiety. It deals with less prominent anxiety related problems ranging from skin picking and hair pulling to Complex Post- Traumatic Stress Disorder and insomnia. Anyone wanting to keep up with what I am writing and also get free reports and information that I am sharing should join the Psychology Knowledge Readers Group.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
When I keep up with it, I am a pretty good poker player, sometimes competing in WSOP circuit events. Of course psychology comes in handy there. I also play bass guitar, but it has been a while since I played with a band.

Who are your favorite authors?
Hemmingway and Tom Robbins stand out for me but I can’t leave out my beach reading obsessions like Lee Childs, James Lee Burke, and Charlotte Hughes, all New York Times bestsellers. Charlotte also happens to be my wife.

What do you like to do with your free time?
Travel. I have been to all over (India, China, Morocco, Brazil, Turkey to name a few) but my favorite vacation is the Greek Islands. One place I haven’t been that I would love to see is Australia and New Zealand.

 

Any final thoughts?
If you are struggling with anxiety, Overcoming Anxiety can help you build a set of tools that can empower you to tame and harness your feelings. Please let me have your feedback, that’s how I learn and grow. It’s fine to tell me how much you liked the book, but it is even better to let me know how I could explain something more clearly or when you make a suggestion of what I left out that was the most helpful to you. Thanks again for the opportunity to have this interview. It happens to come during my launch extravaganza in which the Kindle ™ version of the book is marked down from 5.99 to only 99 cents so, if you want the eBook version, you probably don’t want to wait to buy. Also, while the print book is everywhere the digital book is, for now, exclusive to Amazon ™

Posted on July 30, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

