Book Tour – Space Drifters by Paul Regnier

spacedriftersbanner

About The Book
Title: Space Drifters
Author: Paul Regnier
Genre: Science Fiction

Captain Starcrost is not having the carefree, adventurous life of a star pilot promised in all the space academy brochures. He’s broke, his star freighter is in dire need of repair, and there’s a bounty on his head. His desperation has led to a foolhardy quest to find a fabled treasure that brings good fortune to the wearer, the Emerald Enigma.

Every captain needs a trusty starship and a crack team of crew members by their side. Unfortunately, the bitter pill of reality has brought him Iris, a ship computer with passive aggressive resistance to his commands; Blix, a hulking, copper-scaled, lizard man with an aversion to battle; Nelvan, a time-traveling teen from the past, oblivious to this new future; and Jasette, a beautiful but deadly bounty hunter looking to take over the ship.

Enter a charismatic and clever nemesis named Hamilton Von Drone, whose dark past has already intertwined with our misfortunate captain and left a painful scar. To complicate matters, as every good nemesis must by their evil nature do, Hamilton is employing his vast wealth on the very same quest for the Emerald Enigma.

Author Bio

paul-regnier-authorPaul Regnier is a technology junkie and web designer with a fascination for all things futuristic. He has turned his childhood love of storytelling into a professional pursuit.
Paul lives in Orange County, CA with his wife and two children.

Links
https://www.facebook.com/spacedrifters
Twitter: https://twitter.com/PaulJRegnier
http://www.spacedrifters.com/

Buy the Book:
Amazon (Kindle)
Amazon (Paperback)

space-drifters-cover-199x300

Book Excerpt

We set off down the port side and stopped a quarter of the way down the hall. Without a word we got to work unfastening the utility panel and hefted it onto the floor. I poked my head into the dark chute and looked up. A narrow passage rose up, with a bright square outline at the end revealing the exit panel to the bridge above.
I reached into the dark chute and felt around blindly until the cold metal rung of the ladder hit my palm. “You ready?”
Blix peered in and wrinkled his nose. “I just showered.”
“Follow me, that’s an order.” I started up the ladder, keeping my eye on the thin square outline of light above. The air was as musty as it comes. I coughed into the arm of my jacket. I vaguely remembered a passage in the starship manual about flushing maintenance vents at every refueling.
The soft metal tones of Blix climbing the ladder rungs echoed from below. I thought about how smart it would have been to come up with a plan of attack before we had entered the chute. Now it was too late. We had to be quiet as mice to maintain the element of surprise. I had a grand vision of leaping through the maintenance panel of the bridge, DEMOTER drawn, and blasting the intruder into oblivion. It was going to be glorious.
I reached the panel and tried to peek through the cracks. Unfortunately it only granted a view of the floor from the base of the navigation chair. I could just make out a pair of black shoes in the center of the room, but it was hard to be sure.
I looked down to send a signal to Blix that I was headed in but it was all murky grey light beneath me. I decided that after I blasted the panel off the wall he’d get the message.
Grasping the top ladder rung with one hand, I drew the DEMOTER with the other. I held it toward the panel and took a deep breath.
This was going to be fun.
I squeezed the trigger and the sharp explosion of an energy ray resonated through the chute with a horribly amplified echo. A spray of hot sparks ricocheted back at me as the panel flew into the bridge in a trail of smoke.
A dull ringing filled my ears. I rubbed my face against the shoulder of my jacket, trying to remove the painful sparks, as a burning smell filled my nostrils. It was entirely possible my hair was on fire. This was not at all going as I imagined.

Author Interview

Paul, thanks for being here today. Please tell us about you.
I’m driven by story. Whether it’s a book or movie, I can’t wait to find out which direction the story takes and how the characters will turn out in the end. Listening to dry, detached bits of history makes me sleepy but put some characters in that same historical setting and given them a story to walk through and I’m all ears.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
On a foundational level it would be my family and my faith. Beyond that, I am inspired by creativity, especially in a story setting. Music is definitely another inspiration. I play drums and I’m a beginning guitarist. The way music can move you on a deep level is an incredible thing.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
C.S. Lewis is my favorite author. I would love to talk with him about his sci-fi and fantasy books as well as diving into his theological and philosophical writings.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Space Drifters was just released on Amazon.com. Here’s the summary:

Captain Starcrost is not having the carefree, adventurous life of a star pilot promised in all the space academy brochures. He’s broke, his star freighter is in dire need of repair, and there’s a bounty on his head. His desperation has led to a foolhardy quest to find a fabled treasure that brings good fortune to the wearer, the Emerald Enigma.

Every captain needs a trusty starship and a crack team of crew members by their side. Unfortunately, the bitter pill of reality has brought him Iris, a ship computer with passive aggressive resistance to his commands; Blix, a hulking, copper-scaled, lizard man with an aversion to battle; Nelvan, a time-traveling teen from the past, oblivious to this new future; and Jasette, a beautiful but deadly bounty hunter looking to take over the ship.

Enter a charismatic and clever nemesis named Hamilton Von Drone, whose dark past has already intertwined with our misfortunate captain and left a painful scar. To complicate matters, as every good nemesis must by their evil nature do, Hamilton is employing his vast wealth on the very same quest for the Emerald Enigma.

Tell us your writing process
I always start in a notebook. There’s just something about putting a pen to paper that prompts a unique creative flow. After that, I transfer the writing to the computer, getting an initial round of editing done in the process.

Do you have any tips for other authors who want to get the word out about their book?
I’m experimenting with different promotional tools right now. What I’ve heard from other published authors that have gone through a few book promotions is that there’s no magic bullet. In other words, there’s no one single perfect thing that produces monster results. Using multiple methods seems to be the recommended path. There’s social media, blog tours, book signings, giveaways, online ads and speaking engagements just to name a few.

My advice would be to get your book out there using as many avenues as you can.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
When I was in fifth grade, the teacher assigned a project to write a short story. I already loved writing so I was happy to do it. I dove right in and wrote an adventure story with a humorous twist. When I showed up for class the next day, I was in for a shock. The teacher said we had to recite our story in front of the class. I was pretty shy back then, so I was feeling a little panicked. When it was my turn, I stood in front of my classmates, filled with anxiety, and started reading. To my surprise, when I got to a funny part in the story, the whole class laughed. When I hit the next funny part, they laughed again. My anxiety was replaced with excitement. The class was actually responding to my story. I couldnb t believe it. It was kind of a breakthrough moment for me. I realized I could do something that rose above my shyness and limitations and effect people in a positive way.

Tell us about your main character:
Captain Glint Starcrost is a head strong, impulsive starship captain down on his luck. He’s a talented pilot but his life has taken some rough turns and he’s feeling desperate for a change. He’s become convinced the only way to turn things around is to find the fabled good luck charm known as the Emerald Enigma.

What are you working on next?
Ib m currently finishing the sequel to Space Drifters. Once it’s finished, I’ll be working with an editor to whip it into shape.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I play the drums, mostly rock style (My big influences would be John Bonham and Dave Grohl).

Who are your favorite authors?
There are so many greats out there. Some of my favorites would be C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Michael Crichton, J.K. Rowling, Terry Brooks, Robert Asprin, Harry Harrison, Douglas Adams and Jonathan Stroud.

What do you like to do with your free time?
I like to spend as much time with my family as I can. Beyond that, I love music and I’ve played drums for a number of years now. It’s always a blast to get behind the kit and groove for an hour or two.

Posted on August 19, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

