Interview with … Mindy Mymudes author of Tillie’s Tale

5481751

 Title: Tillie’s Tale
Genre: Middle Grade | Urban Fantasy
Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing
Release Date: March 24, 2015
Buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Blurb: Who is the mysterious ghosty haunting puppygirl Tillie? And why? George, the magical basset hound familiar is on the trail.

Author Bio:

5921711

I’ve worked in a hazardous waste lab, where under the sign for the Right To Know law, was added: if you can figure it out. I’ve been a metals tech, a bakery clerk, a professional gardener, and taught human anatomy and ran two university greenhouses. Along the way I picked up my Master’s Degree in Biology, specializing in the population genetics of an endangered plant. I’ve also been a top breeder, handler, and trainer of English springer spaniels under the prefix of Muddy Paws. We three in the equivalent of the National Club’s (ESSFTA) hall of fame. Every time I think I know dogs, another dog comes along and proves my beliefs are totally wrong. The truth is, the Muddy Paws Pack walk all over me.

Author Links –

Website http://mindymymudes.weebly.com

Blog: http://mindymymudes.weebly.com/blog

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Mindy-Mymudes/486126501426333

Twitter: @GeorgeBasset

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6702514.Mindy_Mymudes

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mindy-Mymudes/e/B00H9LFMR4

INTERVIEW

Welcome Mindy & George, tell us about you both.….
Mindy: I have a master’s degree in biology, where I specialized in population…
George: No one wants to know about you. I was born in a litter of seven pups. When I was ten weeks old, Auntie Heather recognized my greatness and tremendous magical potential. She brought me to my Girlpup and witch-in-training, Karly, to help teach her about magic and her craft.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
Mindy: Three English Springer Spaniel bouncing on my bladder. If they are fed and pottied, I don’t get any more sleep anyhow.
George: I try to avoid getting out of bed. If I don’t though, Tillie might eat my breakfast. Or Packmom might forget to feed me. Or something might fall from the table and I’d miss it. When breakfast is done and I’m pottied, I go back to sleep.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
Mindy: Charles Darwin. His studies of living things…
George: She means she wants to hang with me.
Mindy: The question states PERSON. Not fictional basset hound.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Mindy: Ghosts are considered scary things, and I thought it might be an interesting way to tell a little bit about history and …
George: Considered? Ghosts are dangerous. That one was haunting my packmate, the little puppy girl, Tillie, and could’ve become a dangerous poultry ghosty without my help.

Tell us your writing process.
Mindy: Due to a disability, sitting for long periods is painful. The story percolates through my head and I see the beginning and the end. The middle comes as I’m at the computer, though sometimes scraps of paper are put into service to get down things I’ll forget.
George: I tell her my story in the order it happened. Not my fault she’s dense and doesn’t get it the first time.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
George: When I knew my stories needed to be shared with the Peeps of the world. My mouth isn’t designed for mundane things like talking, so I found my secret-ary.
Mindy: I thought I was just journaling about my own crazy dogs, and the next thing I knew I was nose-to-nose with a crazy basset hound who told me he wasn’t a stupid spaniel and his story was more important. I never planned on becoming a writer, other than technical and for text books.

Tell us about your main character:
George: I’m a perfectly designed, brilliant basset hound familiar for a very loveable and naive Girlpup named Karly.

What are you working on next?
George: I’ve been dictating to my secret-tary the story of my love, Phoebe. There are also missing spoons and socks. It’s a romance. It’s a mystery. It’s part of my life story. Fascinating and fast moving. Like me.
Mindy: George get real. Once again, George has to find an answer. Tillie, the puppygirl his packsibling Joey was given in “George Knows” attracts a ghost who haunts her. George has to find a way to make the ghost disappear. During his hunt for the answer, Auntie Heather and Karly, his Girlpup, witch-in-training, learn about some forgotten American History.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
George: I can fart in five languages and my drool is magical.
Mindy: (Speechless).

Who are your favorite authors?
Mindy: As a child I read Robert Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, Anne McCaffrey, Now I read a lot of Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance: Faith Hunter, Ilona Andrews, Jennifer Estep, Kim Harrison, Darynda Jones and a lot of others. So many dog training books I can’t even name them all.
George: Peeps waste their minds with books and ‘puters. They’ve lost all their in stinks. Familiars are born knowing everything that’s important.

What do you like to do with your free time?
George: I’m pretty busy, what with saving Karly, sleuthing out magical problems, eating, and sleeping, so I don’t have much free time.
Mindy: (Shakes head at George). I like gardening, reading, and dog training.
George: Shame you aren’t a better trainer.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
George: Well, there is Phoebe’s Pause that my secret-ary is currently entering in the computer for me. Familiars don’t have need of computers, but you Peeps do. I hired a secret-ary from a coffee shop. She isn’t very good, I only hired her because she was working on an article for Dog Fancy. She understands dogspeak well enough.
Mindy: I also am working on a Paranormal Romance about a Werehuman who wants to go back to being a dog full time. His human girlfriend isn’t willing to lose him.

 

Any final thoughts?
George: I need to pee. Excuse me. C’mon, secret-ary, you can open the door for me.
Mindy: (Sigh)

Posted on September 29, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. George is always quite the character! 😀

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for having, um, us. Next time, I’m leaving George home.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for hosting 🙂

    Like

  4. This has to be an entertaining read, especially for dog lovers!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

