Daily Archives: October 1, 2015

Book Tour – The Murder Road by Stephen Booth

The Murder Road by Stephen Booth

Title: The Murder Road
Author: Stephen Booth
Publisher: Witness Impulse
Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Format: Kindle/Hardcover/Paperback

The-Murder-Road-198x300

For fans of Broadchurch, Louise Penny, and Peter Robinson comes a spellbinding new novel from internationally bestselling author Stephen Booth

Welcome to the picturesque English village of Shawhead, where there’s one road in and one road out. And on that road this morning is an abandoned vehicle…with an ominous bloodstain inside.

It’s a mystery. It could be a murder. Where—and who—is the driver? Whose blood has been discovered? Why are the people of Shawhead so hostile toward Detective Ben Cooper, sent in to take charge of the investigation?

As Cooper peels back layers of lies and exposes dark secrets to the light, he draws ever closer to a killer hiding in plain sight. Packed with atmosphere, suspense, and surprises, The Murder Road is Stephen Booth’s most unforgettable novel yet.

Order The Murder Road at:
Amazon
B&N
Add to Goodreads Shelf.

About The Author

Stephen-Booth-204x300

A newspaper and magazine journalist for over 25 years, Stephen Booth was born in the English Pennine mill town of Burnley. He was brought up on the Lancashire coast at Blackpool, where he attended Arnold School. He began his career in journalism by editing his school magazine, and wrote his first novel at the age of 12.

After graduating from City of Birmingham Polytechnic (now Birmingham City University), Stephen moved to Manchester to train as a teacher, but escaped from the profession after a terrifying spell as a trainee teacher in a big city comprehensive school.

Starting work on his first newspaper in Wilmslow, Cheshire, in 1974, Stephen was a specialist rugby union reporter, as well as working night shifts as a sub-editor on the Daily Express and The Guardian. This was followed by periods with local newspapers in Yorkshire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire. He was at various times Production Editor of the Farming Guardian magazine, Regional Secretary of the British Guild of Editors, and one of the UK’s first qualified assessors for the NVQ in Production Journalism.

Freelance work began with rugby reports for national newspapers and local radio stations. Stephen has also had articles and photographs published in a wide range of specialist magazines, from Scottish Memories to Countrylovers Magazine, from Cat World to Canal and Riverboat, and one short story broadcast on BBC radio. In 1999, his writing career changed direction when, in rapid succession, he was shortlisted for the Dundee Book Prize and the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger competition for new writers, then won the £5,000 Lichfield Prize for his unpublished novel The Only Dead Thing, and signed a two-book contract with HarperCollins for a series of crime novels.

In 2000, Stephen’s first published novel, Black Dog, marked the arrival in print of his best known creations – two young Derbyshire police detectives, DC Ben Cooper and DS Diane Fry. Black Dog was the named by the London Evening Standard as one of the six best crime novels of the year – the only book on their list written by a British author. In the USA, it won the Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel and was nominated for an Anthony Award for Best First Mystery. The second Cooper & Fry novel, Dancing with the Virgins, was shortlisted for the UK’s top crime writing award, the Gold Dagger, and went on to win Stephen a Barry Award for the second year running.

In 2003, Detective Constable Ben Cooper was a finalist for the Sherlock Award for the Best Detective created by a British author, thanks to his exploits in the third book of the series, Blood on the Tongue. The publication of Blind to the Bones that year resulted in Stephen winning the Crime Writers’ Association’s ‘Dagger in the Library’ Award, presented to the author whose books have given readers most pleasure. The same book was nominated for the Theakston’s UK Crime Novel of the Year award in 2005. Subsequent titles have been One Last Breath, The Dead Place (both finalists for the UK Crime Novel of the Year in 2006 and 2007), Scared to Live, Dying to Sin, The Kill Call, Lost River, The Devil’s Edge, Dead and Buried and Already Dead. The 14th Cooper & Fry novel, The Corpse Bridge, was published in the UK in June 2014 and will be followed by The Murder Road in 2015. A special Ben Cooper story, Claws, was released in 2007 to launch the new ‘Crime Express’ imprint, and was re-issued in April 2011.

All the books are set in England’s beautiful and atmospheric Peak District. At the end of 2006, the Peak District National Park Authority featured locations from the Cooper & Fry series in their new Peak Experience visitors’ guides, recognising the interest in the area inspired by the books.

The Cooper & Fry series is now published by Little, Brown in the UK and by the Witness Impulse imprint of HarperCollins in the USA. In addition to publication in the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, translation rights in the series have so far been sold in fifteen languages – French, German, Dutch, Italian, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian and Japanese.

While living on a smallholding in Yorkshire, Stephen began breeding pedigree dairy goats as a hobby (and as an extreme contrast to working in busy news rooms!). He later served on the British Goat Society’s governing body and judged at shows all over Britain. He has been chairman of several clubs, including the charity fund-raising Just Kidding Goat Society, and probably his most unusual role was as a director of an artificial insemination company. Specialist publications he’s been responsible for include a book on one of the country’s oldest goat breeds, The Toggenburg. He is a former President of the Toggenburg Breeders Society.

Stephen left journalism in 2001 to write novels full time. He and his wife Lesley live in a village in rural Nottinghamshire, England (home of Robin Hood and the Pilgrim Fathers). They have three cats.

In recent years, Stephen Booth has become a Library Champion in support of the UK’s ‘Love Libraries’ campaign, and a Reading Champion to support the National Year of Reading. He has also represented British literature at the Helsinki Book Fair in Finland, filmed a documentary for 20th Century Fox on the French detective Vidocq, taken part in online chats for World Book Day, and given talks at many conferences, conventions, libraries, bookshops and festivals around the world.

More info:
Website
Twitter

The Worlds First Full Virtual Reality Book (VR Book) Experience

vbook-header1-700x150

 

The First Virtual Reality Book

Melbourne, Australia – September 22 2015: ASJ Publishing have just released the first virtual reality book for Oculus Rift. The book will offer readers a visually immersive reading experience.

mAccording to the CEO of Sega, Mike Hayes, the virtual reality industry will be worth a staggering $6 billion within the next two years. The majority of this will be attributed to the Oculus Rift device, which has had drastic improvements to its functionality since it was initially announced in 2012. Different uses are constantly being created for the device, which is bound to change the way people experience art and entertainment.

 

With several virtual reality games and movies already available for people to enjoy, it is easy to see that many industries have already accepted the Oculus Rift as the device of the future. Just last week the virtual reality television show Sleepy Hollow won an Emmy award, which will certainly encourage the television industry to produce more shows of the like.

Whether it is stepping into their favorite game, watching an immersive movie, experiencing destinations around the world or spending time with friends, the Oculus Rift offers users a unique experience. The Melbourne-based publishing house ASJ Publishing believes that not only will virtual reality change the way people experience art and entertainment, but it can also change the way people read.

We are stepping outside the limitations of a traditional book.” explains Chris Jackson, the founder of ASJ Publishing. “Imagine being able to visually immerse yourself into a book. For instance, you could be reading a book of a woman walking through a forest and be entirely surrounded by detailed foliage and staggeringly tall trees. As you continue reading, the breeze will come through the trees and blow the leaves around you. The content of the scene will set the mood of the story. This is unlike anything you have ever experienced while reading a book.

ASJ Publishing have just released the first virtual reality book for Oculus. Written by Ken Maxon and developed by Kevin Gulling, the book is a poetry piece titled“A Chapter Finished, A Page Turned, the Sunset will Come Back.” It was initially published by ASJ in 2012 and the company has decided to use it as their first virtual reality book due to its relaxing tone and atmosphere. While reading the book on a virtual reality device, readers will experience a “book reading simulation” whilst on an island. They will be sitting in the sand, under a palm tree and be able to watch the waves roll in and the birds flying above.

As the popularity of virtual reality continues during the near future, ASJ Publishing hopes to release many more virtual reality books. To find out more information visit www.asjpublishing.com.

Get it on Oculushttps://share.oculus.com/app/a-chapter-finished

###

 

 

 

%d bloggers like this: