Book Tour – Lies Ripped Open

NBTM_TourBanner_LiesRippedOpen copy
Lies Ripped Open
by Steve McHugh

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Over a hundred years have passed since a group of violent killers went on the rampage, murdering innocent victims for fun. But even back then, sorcerer Nate Garrett, aka Hellequin, knew there was more to it than simple savage pleasure—souls were being stolen.

Nate’s discovery of the souls’ use, and of those supporting the group’s plan, made him question everything he believed.

Now the group Nate thought long dead is back. Violent, angry, and hell-bent on revenge, they have Hellequin firmly in their sights. And if he won’t come willingly, they’ll take those closest to him first.

The battle begins again.
BookCover_LiesRippedOpen

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Book Excerpt:

I walked over to the second agent, whose back was toward me as he stood a little further into the park, and placed my hand on his shoulder. “That’s enough,” I repeated, but he spun around and all of the breath left my body at once, followed immediately by pain as it exploded across my torso. I glanced down as a shimmering blade of ice was pulled free from my chest. It was covered in my blood. I dropped to my knees and watched as the magical weapon vanished from view. The pain forced me to abandon my night vision, and the darkness once again took control.

The overwhelming thought that bounced around my head was that neither of the SOA agents had been sorcerers. My attacker crouched beside me. “They interrupted me and my prey got away,” his accent was from East London, but sounded slightly different from many of those living in the city. As if he’d been away from here for a long time, and had not quite remembered how the accent was meant to sound.

I glanced up at him, still unable to breathe; the blade had punctured a lung. It wouldn’t kill me, but it would be a few hours until I was back to normal, and without my night vision I could have been staring into Merlin’s own face and I’d never have known.

The man got back to his feet and kicked me onto my back. “I should make sure you remember your time here, but I’m sure your comrades over there will be able to do that better than I could.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR BIO:

AuthorPhoto_LiesRippedOpen

Steve’s been writing from an early age, his first completed story was done in an English lesson. Unfortunately, after the teacher read it, he had to have a chat with the head of the year about the violent content and bad language. The follow up ‘One boy and his frog’ was less concerning to his teachers and got him an A.
It wasn’t for another decade that he would start work on a full-length novel that was publishable, the results of which was the action-packed Urban Fantasy, Crimes Against Magic.

Steve McHugh lives in Southampton on the south coast of England with his wife and three young daughters. When not writing or spending time with his kids, he enjoys watching movies, reading books and comics, and playing video games.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hellequinchronicles
Twitter: https://twitter.com/StevejMchugh
Website: http://stevejmchugh.wordpress.com/
BUY LINKS: http://www.amazon.com/Lies-Ripped-Open-Hellequin-Chronicles/dp/1503946401/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1438180555&sr=8-1&keywords=Steve+McHugh

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lies-ripped-open-steve-mchugh/1121648543?ean=9781503946408

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY

Steve McHugh will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

Enter to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author Interview

Steve, thanks for being here today. Tell us about you
I was born in 1979 in a town in South Yorkshire by the name of Mexborough, near Doncaster. My family and I moved down to Southampton when I was about 6ish and I’ve lived here ever since. Fast forward a lot of years and I’m married and we have three young daughters. Oh and a bearded dragon, can’t forget him.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
As I have 3 young children, I don’t really get a say in whether I want to get out of bed. They’re my alarm clock. Even if that clock is 2 hours before I’d like to get up.

Once I’m actually up though, I just love writing. I love creating stories, and having people read them. There’s nothing quite like it.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I have no idea. Probably someone like Jackie Chan, simply because he’s done so much with his life he must have loads of interesting stories to tell. And I bet he’s great fun too.

 What’s the story behind your latest book?
The story is that the main character, Nate Garrett, is forced to go back to the city of Camelot after some people try to kill him. Unfortunately, Camelot is where a lot of other people who want to kill him are. It’s the first time we really see what living in Camelot is like. It’s also the first time we see Merlin, and learn about exactly what happened between the two of them that caused such a massive rift.

Tell us your writing process
I usually think about the book for a few weeks before I even start writing, during which time I’m making notes about story arcs or characters. After a few weeks, I start to really make a lot of notes about the book, writing out story arcs, and fleshing out the story. About a month after I’ve started, I’ll sit down and start writing.

That’s not always the way, sometimes I think of something and it takes 6 months to ferment in my mind, sometimes only a week. But I always give it time to breathe before I start writing.

What advice can you give other authors on promoting their work?
There’s an awful lot of promoting that goes on, what works for those people who have already discovered you is Facebook and Twitter. It’s great for people to be able to contact you and say hi, or tell you how much they enjoyed the book.

For getting new people onboard, blog tours work well, but nothing comes close to word of mouth. The very best thing you can get is someone who likes your work and tells others about it. If you can harness that, let me know, because that would be great.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I always enjoyed writing, even as a very young boy. But when I was about 12 or 13 my English teacher at school advised me to read books from various genres that I didn’t normally read, so I went to the local library and picked up David Gemmell, Terry Pratchett and Stephen King. Once I finished them, I knew I wanted to do it myself.

Tell us about your main character:
Nate Garrett is a 1600 year old sorcerer, who used to work for Merlin and the shadowy organization known as Avalon. Just over a hundred years ago, he left and the books are about his life in the modern day as he begins to realize that some people are out there who want to take more of Avalon’s power for themselves.

What are you working on next?
I’m currently writing book 6, and then I’ve got an Epic Fantasy book I’d like to work on.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
Writing books is pretty much my special talent. I’m good at videogames, and I’m a half-decent cook. Oh, and I have 3 daughters so I probably know more about My Little Pony than is strictly necessary.

Who are your favorite authors?
Robin Hobb, John Connolly, Terry Pratchett, Stephen King, David Gemmell, Warren Ellis, and far too many more to mention.

What do you like to do with your free time?
I spend time with my family, read, play videogames, and watch movies. I tend to like to do stuff that I find relaxing. Although spending time with the family can be anything but that.

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
Well, Lies Ripped Open came out on 25th August, and there’s nothing else upcoming just yet. I’ve got books to write before I have any idea what’s next.

 

Any final thoughts?
Thanks for having me, and if anyone decided to have a read of my book, I hope they enjoy it.

Posted on November 4, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great post, I enjoyed reading both the excerpt and interview. Thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. Really love the cover. The excerpt was really great.

    Like

  3. Great interview, thank you!

    Like

  4. I enjoyed the interview.

    Like

  5. Thanks for having me on your blog.

    Like

  6. What’s your favorite cheesy pick-up line? Have you ever used it for real?

    Like

  7. Thank you for hosting today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

