Book Tour – Kyrie Carter series

newbiebanner

About the Books

 

The Newbie

the-newbie-a-kyrie-carter-ghost-hunting-adventure-book-1-by-leta-hawk
Kyrie Carter can’t believe her luck when she wins a spot on a paranormal investigation with celebrity ghost hunter Drac Petery and his heartthrob brother Gabe. As the investigation begins, her main obstacles are her unsupportive teammates and her lack of ghost hunting experience. Her biggest critic is the ruggedly handsome but enigmatic Spook Steele, who takes an instant and intense dislike to the newbie and seems determined to see her fail. However, Kyr soon realizes that her flesh-and-blood rivals are the least of her worries. The investigation takes a dark turn when the team finds evidence of a decades-old murder mystery, and Kyr becomes the victim of the resident spirit’s violent attacks. The discovery of a family connection to the Berkeleys explains the spirit’s malevolence. Will Kyr be able to help the Peterys unravel the mystery and put the Berkeley mansion spirits to rest, or will she become another victim of the house’s tragic history? And will she be able to sort out her romantic feelings for the off-limits Gabe and her growing but unwelcome attraction to Spook Steele?

School Spirits

school-spirits-a-kyrie-carter-paranormal-adventure-book-2-by-leta-hawk

In Book 2 of Leta Hawk’s Kyrie Carter Paranormal Mystery series, a paranormal investigation on the campus of Willow Lake College leads to the discovery of a decades-old murder mystery. Kyrie Carter is thrilled to accompany her best friend JoEllyn to their alma mater, Willow Lake College, for a ghost hunt with the campus Paranormal Club. She is pleasantly surprised when celebrity ghost hunters Drac and Gabe Petery show up with their team. She is not so pleasantly surprised when her critical former teammate Spook Steele shows up with them. What begins as a routine investigation into campus ghost stories soon turns dangerous as Kyr encounters a malicious spirit in the bell tower of Appleton Hall. Upon further investigation, the team learns that a suspicious fire had claimed the life of a female student in 1958. After Spook becomes a victim of a similar fire in the bell tower while investigating, he and Kyr begin to suspect they are dealing with more than a simple haunting. Kyr and Spook put aside their differences and team up to piece together what happened in the bell tower. The mystery deepens as they discover that everyone—townspeople and campus administrators alike—seem determined to keep the truth hidden about the events of that night.

Author Bio

Leta Hawk has been fascinated with the paranormal since her first encounter with a ghost at four years of age. Her first novel, The Newbie: A Kyrie Carter Ghost Hunting Adventure, was self-published in the summer of 2014, and was re-launched through Booktrope as The Newbie: A Kyrie Carter Paranormal Mystery, Book 1. A writer since high school, she has written in various genres, including poetry, children’s stories, puppet skits, and novels. Leta currently lives in Dillsburg, Pennsylvania with her husband, two sons, and a dog (but no ghosts). When she isn’t writing, she serves as a Scout leader, Sunday school teacher, and Released Time School Coordinator, Song Leader, and Listener, and tries to keep up with her sons’ busy schedules.

Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LetaPHawk/?fref=ts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LetaPHawk

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8349722.Leta_P_Hawk

 

Newbie on Amazon (ebook): http://www.amazon.com/Newbie-Kyrie-Carter-Paranormal-Mystery-ebook/dp/B0163GW32W/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Newbie on Amazon (paperback): http://www.amazon.com/Newbie-Kyrie-Carter-Paranormal-Mystery/dp/1513700898/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

 

School Spirits on Amazon (eBook): http://www.amazon.com/School-Spirits-Carter-Paranormal-Mystery-ebook/dp/B015TJJOZS/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

School Spirits on Amazon (paperback): http://www.amazon.com/School-Spirits-Carter-Paranormal-Mystery/dp/1513701363/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

EXCERPT

Gabe suggested we separate to see if one of us could corner the spirit. He stayed in the master bedroom and, as I suspected he would, suggested I head to the other bedroom. I was a bit leery of the possibility of being alone with a ghost, but I tried to convince myself that we didn’t seem to be dealing with a malicious spirit. I had my flashlight, a digital voice recorder, and a video camera that Gabe handed me at the last moment. I decided to set it up on the vanity to capture as much of the room as possible.

I sat down on the bed and tried provoking the spirit. “Okay, you’ve been playing hide and seek with us; now how about you show yourself. My name is Kyr; I’m here, and Gabe is in the other room. Quit playing games and let one of us see you.”

No sooner had I said that than the room became drastically colder. Goosebumps rose on my skin, and I began to tremble, although I couldn’t tell if it was from the cold or from fear. Trying not to let my voice betray my feelings, I said, “Come on, you’ll have to do better than that!”

Just then, Gabe’s voice came over the walkie talkie, startling me, “Gabe to Kyr, it’s pretty quiet over here. You getting anything over there?”

I replied, “Yeah, the room got ice cold as soon as I started provoking…” Before I could finish, the bedroom door slammed shut, and my flashlight flickered and went out, leaving me in complete darkness.

“What the hell was that?” Gabe asked.

Trying not to panic, I radioed back, “The door just slammed shut, and my flashlight went out. What do I do?”
Gabe must have sensed the fear in my voice because he radioed back, “Just stay calm, and keep trying to communicate. I’ll be there in a second.”

I stood up and made my way towards the door, asking the spirit if it had a reason for being there, why it stayed in the house. A moment later, I heard the doorknob rattling. Gabe said, “I can’t get the door open. Is it locked from your side?”

“I wouldn’t think so,” I said, beginning to feel more apprehensive. I tried the doorknob, to no avail. “I can’t get it open either.” I fumbled around the doorknob, looking for any kind of lock. Finding none, I tried pulling as hard as I could on the door.

Suddenly, the room became even colder, and I felt the hairs on my neck stand up as I became aware of a presence behind me. I turned quickly and pressed up against the door, not really wanting to see who or what was there, but not wanting to be taken by surprise either. I wasn’t ready for what I saw in the room with me. A shimmering mist had formed beside the bed and was beginning to take the shape of a person. In a matter of seconds a tall, angry-looking man stood before me and began moving towards me.

My eyes widened in terror as I realized I was trapped in a locked room with a very unfriendly-looking spirit. I began pounding on the door, shouting, “Gabe! Get me out! There’s something here with me!”

Gabe was obviously concerned about what he couldn’t see happening, but he tried to calm me, “Don’t be afraid of it. See if you can communicate. I’ll keep trying to get the door open.”

I was so frightened that communicating with a spirit was the last thing on my mind. The spirit continued to move towards me, and it reached a menacing hand towards me. I stifled a scream, and then yelled, “Stay away! Stay away! Gabe, please get the door open!”

As I continued pounding on the door and imploring the spirit to leave me alone, I heard Gabe radio to Drac and Steele for help. The spirit loomed over me. I covered my head with my hands and pressed harder against the door. The last thing I remembered was screaming as I felt an icy blast go through my body; then everything went black.

Posted on December 22, 2015, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Hawk's Happenings and commented:
    Thank you for participating in the blog tour!

    Like

Leave a Reply

