Book Tour – LET’S STALK REX JUPITER

VBT_LetsStalkRexJupiter_Banner copy
Let’s Stalk Rex Jupiter!
by Allison A. Spector

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Humor, literary fiction, with elements of magical realism

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Trouble’s brewing in the Evergreen Jungle. When controversial author Rex Jupiter plans a visit to a Bellingham bookstore, news of his arrival attracts the attention of the mysterious Paladin, who plans on leading a mob of rioting housewives against him. But the Paladin has competition. Sleuth-extraordinaire Marian Krause has her own bone to pick with Jupiter as she scrambles to solve the death of a woman who has stolen her identity. Rex may think he has the situation under control, but when the wrath of the local Druids is incurred, pitchforks and torches may be the least of his concerns.

Layout 1

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Book Excerpt:

The Paladin knew just where to go. The Shipment had arrived an hour beforehand if his Intelligence was to be trusted. It could be. His Sources never failed him. He was sure the payload would be kept in the stockroom before it was added into the inventory. And he was correct.

The Paladin grabbed a box cutter from the pocket of his cape. It was hard to see in the dark and the eyeholes of his Guy Fawkes mask were too small, but these were mere trifles. Soon, dozens of the Heretic’s novels of Shameful Smarm would be loaded into his bag and artfully recycled in a socially responsible manner. No longer would readers be burned by the white-hot radioactivity of the inflammatory passages he knew lurked within those covers.

Passages housed within chapter titles like “How to Fan a Flame War,” “White Privilege Rocks!,” and “I Objectified Your Mama (and She Loved it).”

Whether the appropriations of the tools of troll-dom were ironic or non-ironic, it mattered little to the Paladin. The only thing that mattered was that he would soon be the agent through which a great Cultural Transformation would take place. And a glorious new age would dawn…

Or something like that.

But for now, he would start small. Yes, for now, he would have to be satisfied that the five hideous cardboard cut-outs of the arrogant, smirking Rex Jupiter would be hacked to—no, wait! Only four would be shredded. On the fifth, he would draw devil horns and a twirly moustache with, dare he imagine it, Permanent Marker.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_LetsStalkRexJupiter

Allison Spector was born and raised in the hedonistic playground of the Jersey Shore, but finds herself oddly allergic to spray tan. She is a proud graduate of Goucher College, and started her environmentally-focused career in Washington DC in 2005. She moved to the Pacific Northwest in 2008, and fell in love with its beauty and people. Allison is currently on a Midwestern Adventure and is determined to live as much life as possible—to accomplish her dreams one at a time—and to nurture her loving family, and blaze a trail of wit, whimsy, and eccentricity wherever she goes.

https://twitter.com/inspectorallie
http://www.allisonspector.com
Books available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Lets-Stalk-Rex-Jupiter-1888-ebook/dp/B0188MUKWE/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27402777-let-s-stalk-rex-jupiter

Book Trailer

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

Allison Spector will be awarding a signed copy of book with original plot outline notes (loose sheets of paper) inside and additional notes at end or in margins of story (US/Canada only) to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn host.

Enter to win a special print copy of the book – a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author Interview

Allison. Thanks for being my guest here today. Tell our followers about you
I’m a New Jersey native who moved to the Pacific Northwest back in 2008 and fell in love with the whimsical spirit of the people and abundant natural beauty.  Much of my writing has been heavily influenced by my East Coast roots and West Coast wings.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
I’m driven by an overwhelming drive to build, create, influence, and achieve.  I want to make my mark on the world, to do good—to spark imagination and make life more beautiful.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
I would want to meet the Dalai Lama and spend time with such a gentle human being who has dedicated their lives to compassion and enlightenment.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Let’s Stalk Rex Jupiter was written over the course of three months as part of the JukePop and 1888/Black Hill Press Summer Writing Project.  My story was posted one chapter at a time on that forum and was selected alongside two other amazing novellas- Beneath Blair Mountain by Shannon Barnsely and A Stalled Ox by Dean Moses.

Tell us your writing process
I try to write something every day, even if it’s just a few hundred words.  On average I write between 500 and 1000 words every evening.  I find a quiet, cozy spot where I can stretch my legs.  I sip tea, browse the internet, write.  Sing a song, act out a scene, play with my kids, write.  But no matter what else I might do during my evenings, I am definitely writing!

Do you have any promo tips you can share with aspiring & upcoming authors?
To be honest, I’m pretty new to the promo world.  But so far, social media seems to be the way to go.  I’ve promo’ed on Good Reads, Twitter, and through Goddess Fish.  I’m very pleased with the results to date.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
Always and always.  Writing is just an inherent part of who I am.  I write my first poem at around 11, and I’ve hit the ground running ever since.

Tell us about your main character:
Marian Krause is an aspiring film noir detective who immerses herself in a delightful, pro-active delusion of gumshoe grandeur.  She is in a supportive relationship with her hipster husband, Dave who is head over heels in love with this strange, trench coat wearing savant.  They live in a cute little purple house with a majestic sequoia in the front yard that may or may not be a supernatural portal for the Old Gods.

What are you working on next?
I have an ongoing serial novel on JukePop.com called The Fringers.  It’s a dystopian tale that pits big brother and big business against each other as they fight for the souls of New Jersey’s most obnoxious reality stars.  I also have several short stories in the hopper, including one that will publish with 1888 and Black Hill Press in 2016 as part of their Cost of Paper anthology.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I’m an excellent facilitator with training in mediation and conflict resolution.  I’m very adept at helping different parties work across the table to achieve amazing results they would have never been able to accomplish individually.

Who are your favorite authors?
Some of my favorite authors include George Orwell, Lois Lowry, Neil Gaiman, Francesca Lia Block, and George McDonald Fraser.  I’m also a fan of my fellow Summer Writing Project authors, Dean Moses- author of A Stalled Ox, and Shannon Barnsley, author of Beneath Blair Mountain.

What do you like to do with your free time?
In my free time, I write—because writing is as natural as eating or drinking or breathing.  But when I have the chance, I also escape into nature and play in the dirt, climb trees, and scramble over rocks!

Tell us about your plans for upcoming books.
I have a few ideas.  There’s a story I had worked on but never went anywhere that involved a subterranean land and a clockwork bird.  I might salvage parts of it for a tale or two.  I’m also thinking about a Rex Jupiter sequel (maybe), and a genderqueer middle grade with a working title of Sonny Moondog Kisses Boys, but I haven’t decided yet.  So many options!

 

Any final thoughts?
I just want to thank you for taking the time to interview me today and for all the thoughtful questions.  I really appreciate being included on your lovely website!

Posted on January 6, 2016, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Fascinating interview, Allison! I find it very interesting that you would like to meet the Dalai Lama. Also, thank you very much for the kind shoutout. I am touched.

  2. Thanks for hosting me today!

Leave a Reply

