Interview With … Belart Wright

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_AverageJoe

Belart, thanks for being my guest today. Tell us about you
My name is Belart Wright and I was born and raised in Detroit Michigan. I am a huge fan of fiction across all mediums. These tales are great places to stage questions and scenarios not often or never seen in the real world. I am a huge gamer, fan of martial arts and self-improvement, and have a curious mind about many things in our wide world.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
I don’t exactly know. I seem to run on autopilot these days. I am excited to get my weekends back, so now I have something to look forward to every week. I can write a lot more now! And even have some *gasp* fun.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
George Carlin. That man told it like it was and had amazing foresight. He was very cynical, but very brilliant. I think I could learn a lot from him in his later years.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
An average kid named Joe goes hanging out with his friends. At the football game they attend, all hell breaks loose, and Joe is forced into an adventure that he didn’t expect and one that he can’t seemingly escape.

Tell us your writing process
I don’t have much of one, since I don’t get much time off to myself. I just write when and where I can and hope for the best. I am part “prepper” and part “pantser” when it comes to writing, meaning that my best work comes partially from good story planning and partly from making stuff up on the fly and changing my well laid plans as I go. It’s a nice mix, so long as I remain flexible.

What advice do you have for writers who want to get the word out about their book?
I’m still learning the fine art of promotions myself. I’d rather not share my lack of knowledge with your readers. There are some really useful articles online about this sort of thing though and some good books on the subject as well.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?
I always liked creating stories since I was a little kid, but I didn’t know that I wanted to specifically be a writer until about my later teenage years, sometime between 17 and 18 years old. I wrote my first book, Hell Warriors, in that span of time.

Tell us about your main character:
Joe Remington Black is an average small town kid that lives in Orangetown. He likes hanging with his friends and going to the college and high school football games. He’s grown up in a small town all his life and has a small close knit family. Joe’s most stand out quality is his kind heart. Maybe that’s what makes him more than average.

What are you working on next?
I’m currently working on several projects for this year. The first is Average Joe and the Extraordinaires prequel, Liandra and the Dream Reader. After that I plan to release the sequel book, Average Joe and the Beauty, towards the end of the year. While I’m working on releasing those books, I’m writing a new LitRPG story called Hell’s Glitch: Escape From Adventure. I’ve been putting new chapters of that story up on Wattpad.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
I can sleep and write in the most uncomfortable places. It’s my superpower.

Who are your favorite authors?
My favorite authors are J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter), George R.R. Martin (A Song of Ice and Fire), Amy Hennig (Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver), and Yoshihiro Togashi (Hunter x Hunter). I also want to give an honorable mention to Bruce Timm for Batman: The Animated Series and Justice League and Justice League Unlimited.

What do you like to do with your free time?
How rare this free time is! When I do get it though, I like to write of course, watch something cool, exercise, play videogames, or hang with my friends. Going to the theater is usually a blast or catching a wrestling pay per view with my older brother.

Where can people find you on the web?
You guys and gals can find me on my blog at http://belartscorner.blogspot.com/, on Twitter at https://twitter.com/BelartWright, and on Google + at https://plus.google.com/+BelartWright/posts.

Any final thoughts?
I just want to thank you and your glorious readers for this great interview and for reading this great interview! I hope you all enjoy Average Joe and the Extraordinaires along with my other books for many years to come! Thank you all!

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00011]

Posted on January 24, 2016, in Guest Authors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great post and giveaway! Thank you.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on the release of your new book/ Thank you!

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed the interview. Thank you.

    Like

  4. What a stunning cover! And I love the title 🙂

    Majanka @ I Heart Reading

    Like

Leave a Reply

