Interview With … Hadena James

ELYSIUM_DREAMS_oversized

Hey folks. Today my guest is Hadena James. Author of Elysium Dreams. 

Hadena. Tanks for being here today. Tell us about you.
I’m incredibly clumsy. I live in pajamas (when you work from home, why bother to change into real clothing when pajamas are so much more comfortable). I play steel-tip darts, which is sadly, a dying sport in the US. I crochet, however, I don’t have the patience to do afghans, so I mostly do scarves. And I actually love the show Ancient Aliens.

H James

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
That’s hard, but HP Lovecraft would win out by a hair, if I could raise him from the dead. His work had a huge influence on me. I love his ability to tell a great short story. The story Rats in the Walls is the only thing I have ever read that gave me nightmares, which is saying a lot, because I read a ton of horror. I can’t imagine what he would be like as a person, but it would be great to find out.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
Mutilated Dreams is my newest work and available for pre-order at the moment. The inspiration came when I was reading an article about tattoos. It was talking about how visible tattoos used to make us put a person in a certain stereotype, but that was changing and we, as a society, no longer frowned as heavily on them. So, I decided to see if I could do something with this societal norm change and came up with someone who was taking tattoos, but not killing the victims. It was completely different from anything I’d ever done before, especially with this series, since my serial killer wasn’t really a killer.

What is your writing process? 
I sit down, open my computer, and start typing. Honestly, there is no best way for me to write a book. I do write better after dark, but I can listen to music, watch TV, watch a movie, or have complete silence and still write. And I’m notorious about writing even as I try to fall asleep. I used to keep a notebook by the bed, but it bothered my partner, because I’d be scribbling notes while he was trying to sleep. So, now I just hope I remember it the next day. Usually, I do.

Tell us about your main character: 
Nineteen years ago, I set down to create a character that wasn’t like any female characters I had ever read. The result was Aislinn Cain. Cain is a female sociopath who comes from a long history of psychopaths. She’s asexual (sorry, she’ll never have a love interest), so she has very few weaknesses. She actively looks for abusers, killers, and others of those ilk and volunteers to be their victim with the intent of stopping them. She’s so good at it, she gets recruited for a special US Marshals team that does exactly that, stop serial killers. The reason she’s so good is because she was just as likely to be one of them as one of their hunters.

If your book was to be turned into a movie, who would play the lead role and why.
Milla Jovovich plays an excellent sociopath. She’s too old to play Aislinn Cain, since Cain is in her 20’s, but that’s who I’d want for the part.

What are you working on next?
In an unusual twist of Fate, I started writing book 11 in the Dreams & Reality books as soon as I sent Mutilated Dreams to the editor. I didn’t realize I was setting up Fortified Dreams as I wrote Mutilated Dreams, but I was and the moment I hit send, Fortified began to flow. By the time the editor had finished with Mutilated, I was half down with Fortified. Normally, I take a short break and write a Dysfunctional Chronicle novella (not horror), between my Dreams & Reality books just to cleanse my brain, but not this time.

What advice do you have for other writers who want to get the word out about their book?
You can never advertise enough. Give copies away to be read and reviewed. Sign up for the newsletters that offer free and discounted books and start dropping your prices from time to time and putting them in there. Do blog tours. Be active on social media (but don’t spam about your book). Listen and be willing to take advice from writers who write full time.

What is your favorite book on your shelf right now?
The Scarlet Gospels by Clive Barker.

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
Um, I would say no. However, everyone I know would disagree with me. I have a knack for retaining useless trivia. Occasionally, I manage to work it into conversation and occasionally, it just seems to overload my brain and spew forth on its own.

You are given the choice of one super power. What super power would you have and why?
I already have a super power: I trip over invisible things. I never seemed to outgrow being a klutz, now I can walk down a sidewalk and trip over nothing. My friends have all just gotten used to it, so they no longer think it’s weird when I’m walking and suddenly, I’m not.

List 5 things on your bucket list:

  1. Go to England to watch World Cup Darts live.
  2. Write and publish at least 100 books.
  3. Meet Stephen Fry (I don’t think I could manage talking to him, I would definitely be star-struck and fumble over my words).
  4. Learn to be less of an introvert.
  5. Hit a 180.

Where can readers find you on the web?

www.facebook.com/hadenajames
@hadenajames
hadenajames.wordpress.com

Any final thoughts?

Thank you for taking the time to interview me and post it on your site!

Posted on January 26, 2016, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow Hadena great interview!!!! I’m awestruck at your talent and ability.

    Like

  2. Thank you for hosting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

