Book Tour ~ BRAINS AND BEAUTY

VBT_BrainsAndBeauty_Banner copy

Brains and Beauty

by Jeanette Watts

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Historic Fiction

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Regina Waring seems to have it all. A loving husband, a successful business, and the most expensive wardrobe in town. But nothing is what it appears to be. Her husband is critical and demanding, the business teeters on ruin, even the opulent wardrobe is a clever illusion.

Regina’s life is one long tiptoe through a minefield; one wrong step and her entire life is going to blow up and destroy her. Attempting to hold it all together, she appeases the husband, dresses the part, and never, never says what she is really thinking. That would get in the way of getting things done. And, if there’s one thing Regina did really well, it was getting things done.

Enter Thomas Baldwin. Young and handsome and completely off limits, Regina is smitten at first sight. Then, to her great astonishment, he slowly becomes her best friend. He’s the one person in her life who never lets her down. Torn between her fascination with him and her desire not to ruin a marvelous friendship, she tries to enjoy each moment with him as it comes.

If only that were enough.

MediaKit_BookCover_BrainsAndBeauty

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BOOK EXCERPT

There was grunting, and the sound of wood groaning, and then a wet thump as they lifted and threw something. Regina could tell that there was a little more room behind her shoulder blades. There was more grunting and dragging and thumping. Then she heard them both groan.

What’s going on back there? Have I been cut off at the waist?” she asked. Not being able to see what was wrong, or the progress they were having, was making her anxious.

The next layer is completely wedged in. We can’t do this without tools,” Isaac told her.

Both men hurried away from her, making her worry for their safety. She had also found their company reassuring. What if neither one of them was able to find her again?

That’s when she saw the flickering orange glow in the distance. “No.”

Yes. It didn’t seem possible – but in the midst of water floating below, and pouring from above, something had caught on fire.

Regina started listing in her head all the accelerants that might be contained in a single drygoods store: tar, pitch, turpentine, kerosene. How many homes used all of them? How many gas lines were ruptured all over the city? How many wood stoves were knocked into them? There was no way this heap would NOT be set on fire.

And here she was, stuck, in the middle of it. No doubt about it, she was about to die in the same town in which she was born. It was a shame, really. She had such high aspirations.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_BrainsAndBeauty

Jeanette Watts only lived in Pittsburgh for four years, but in her heart, she will always be a Pittsburgher. She missed the city so much after her move to Ohio, she had to write a love story about it.

She has written television commercials, marketing newspapers, stage melodramas, four screenplays, three novels, and a textbook on waltzing. When she isn’t writing, she teaches social ballroom dances, refinishes various parts of her house, and sews historical costumes and dance costumes for her Cancan troupe.

Links:

Webpage

www.JeanetteWatts.com

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/jeanette.watts.94

https://www.facebook.com/WealthAndPrivilege?ref=hl

Twitter

https://twitter.com/jeanetteawatts

Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/Brains-Beauty-Jeanette-Watts-ebook/dp/B017NEZ0P0/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1449863350&sr=8-4&keywords=brains+and+beauty

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

Prize Pic

Jeanette Watts will be awarding a Victorian cameo necklace to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $15 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn host.

Enter to win a Victorian cameo necklace – a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2015/12/vbt-brains-and-beauty-by-jeanette-watts.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

INTERVIEW

Jeanette, thanks for being my guest today. Tell us about you. 
I have way, way too much energy. I can wear out people half my age. When people ask where I get so much energy from, I blame it on eating too many sugar-coated cereals as a child.

If you could hang out with one famous person for one day, who would it be and why?
Amelia Bloomer. Fascinating lady! I think she must have had as much energy I as do.

What’s the story behind your latest book?
When I finished writing my first book, Wealth and Privilege, I though I was done. It ends on an ambiguous note, but that was on purpose. Gone With the Wind ends without readers having any idea what’s going to happen next. Casablana doesn’t tie everything up with a “happily ever after.” Empire Strikes Back is my favorite Star Wars movie, although that’s not completely fair, it’s already a sequel, and obviously setting up for the next movie.

But then my readers let me know in no uncertain terms that I was going to write another book! I really thought I had nothing more to say. But then Stephanie Meyer’s half-finished Twilight book, told from Edward’s point of view, got leaked online. I totally understand why she was furious, and rightly so. But I did read what was out there, because she said she wasn’t going to finish it. And now I knew how to proceed. I followed her example, and covered exactly the same time period as the first book, but from the heroine’s point of view, instead of the hero’s.

What is your writing process?
I like to write in pretty places. While I get a huge portion of my writing done at my cluttered desk at home, I love setting up retreats for myself. If I’m traveling for a dance event, I’ll stop partway home and get a cabin in the Allegheny National Forest, and write on the front porch with the woods and hills in front of me and a brook next to me. Friends of mine have a cabin in Canada on Lake Erie, and I can write with a view of the lake and the sound of the waves hitting the shore. When my husband travels for conferences, I will find myself a nook in the hotel lobby, next to a fireplace, or at a table in the coffee shop. I get my best work done in those sorts of places.

Tell us about your main character:
Her name is Regina Waring, and I adore her. In the first book, she seems, as one reviewer said, “perfect.” She’s Thomas’ muse. She always seems so put together, and she has all the answers. But nothing could be farther from the truth. I admire because she knows who is she and what she wants. But she’s just struggling through life, making it up as she goes along, making mistakes, struggling to stay afloat, wishing she knew someone who has all the answers. Sadly, my favorite scene demonstrating how earnest and yet flawed she is got left on the cutting room floor. The first draft was much too long, and those scenes had to get cut.

If your book was to be turned into a movie, who would play the lead role and why.
Wow, I have no idea. I want James Cameron to direct, because the man who directed Titanic is a man who would totally get the railroad riots and Johnstown flood right. But actors…? Marina Sirtis from Star Trek would have been great for Regina, but she’s much too old now. It’s a shame – Alan Rickman would have been perfect for the role of Thomas’ father, but that’s not happening now!

What are you working on next?
My brain is driving me completely crazy with new potential projects right now, so I’m scribbling a little bit here, and a little bit there. But the next thing to be in print now that Brains and Beauty is released is a big departure for me. Instead of historical fiction, I’ve written a modern satire called Jane Austen Lied to Me. It’s first person point of view, I’ve written it to be deliberately vague, so that it could be taking place on any college campus in America.

What advice do you have for other writers who want to get the word out about their book?
Prepare to work twice as hard on selling your book as you did on writing it.

What is your favorite book on your shelf right now?
Shelby Foote’s Civil War books and David McCullough’s new book on the Wright Brothers. I live in Dayton, Ohio, so I know by aviation history. But nobody tells the story as well as David McCullough!

Do you have any special/extraordinary talents?
My special superpower is teaching people to dance. Some people would say it’s my skills as a costumer, but that’s just a matter of putting one stitch after another. When people learn to dance, it’s transforming. When you make that transition and realize that you are a dancer, you are never the same person again. Your relationship to other people, to music, to the world around you, will never be the same, ever again.

You are given the choice of one super power. What super power would you have and why?
LMAO! One comic book – style super power? Teleportation, like Nightcrawler from the X-men. I like to travel, but there are times it would be handy to go poof! And be in California. Or New York. Or Alaska. Or Italy!

List 5 things on your bucket list:

  1. Great Wall of China
  2. Norway
  3. The pyramids of Egypt
  4. Palenque
  5. Clew Bay in Ireland (home of Grace O’Malley, the pirate queen I got to play in 2002)

Where can readers find you on the web?

My webpage is www.JeanetteWatts.com

My facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/WealthAndPrivilege/

My Twitter handle is @JeanetteAWatts

Any final thoughts?

Always remember, the stitch ripper is your friend.

Posted on February 9, 2016, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Jeanette, I’ve really enjoyed your tour! Thank you for sharing and for the contest!

    Like

  2. I liked the interview.

    Like

Leave a Reply

