VBT – A is for Apprentice by Steve DeWinter

A is for Apprentice Banner

 

Title: A is For Apprentice
Author: Steve DeWinter
Release Date: November 2, 2015
Publisher: Ramblin’ Rose Publishing
Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy
Format: Ebook

It is said that when the student is ready the teacher will appear.

In Midguard, Spinners are practitioners of innate magic who must learn to control the power that lives inside them before it destroys them.

With the mysterious death of his father, only days before his training is to begin, the knowledge of Van’s lineage as a powerful Spinner is hidden from him. Five years later a near-death experience awakens the dangerous powers within.

Halen, a banished Spinner, is the only one willing to teach Van to manage the magic before it consumes him. He must train Van to hone it into the powerful force needed to stop a vindictive Spinner whose personal mission to conquer Midguard would start a war resulting in the deaths of millions.

But how do they save the world, and Van’s very life, when both apprentice and master are forbidden from ever crossing paths by the same organization created to bring them together?

A IS FOR APPRENTICE is a fantasy novel from the #1 Bestselling Amazon Action & Adventure Sci-Fi Author, Steve DeWinter. This is his next foray into the genre after releasing A Tale of Two Cities with Dragons, a fantasy mashup of the #1 Bestselling Novel of All Time, co-authored with Charles Dickens.

Yes! That Charles Dickens.

ORDER INFORMATION
A is for Apprentice is available for order at  
amazon

 

Steve DeWinter is one of the best adventure authors in the world and, after authoring over 40 books, he still works tirelessly to keep up with the growing demand of readers wanting more across multiple genres.

His books have hit #1 on the Amazon Children’s Action & Adventure Sci-Fi Bestseller list and his adult thrillers reached as high as lucky #13 on the Amazon Action & Adventure Bestseller list. He also has the distinction of having nine books in the top twenty of the Amazon Children’s Action & Adventure Sci-Fi Bestseller list all at the same time.

For More Information
Visit Steve’s website.
Connect with Steve on Twitter and Facebook

 

Interview With ….

Steve. Thanks for being here. Could you please tell us a little about your book?
A is for Apprentice is the story about a boy whose magic lineage is withheld from him. The story follows him as he enters, rather unexpectedly, an unknown world and has to come to grips with who he really is. I was so intent on making it as hard as possible on my main character that, at the end of the first chapter, not only is his intended teacher forbidden from ever training him but also the main character is forbidden from ever being trained by anyone. This was the world he lived in and it was fun to see how both he and his teacher managed to overcome these restrictions. Or do they?

Did something specific happen to prompt you to write this book?
After finishing Shade Infinity, a book that started out as a romantic suspense but quickly became a science-fiction cloning thriller, I was looking for a new story concept that fully embraced the fantasy genre as my next project.

Who or what is the inspiration behind this book?
The inspiration for this book came from using the alphabet as titles for a long running fantasy series. The other inspiration comes from fantasy elements always trying to creep into my non-fantasy stories.

Who is your biggest supporter?
My biggest supporter has to be my 10-year-old son. The reads, and tells me he enjoys, everything I write.

Your biggest critic?
My biggest critic is myself. And I think that’s a good thing because it forces me to keep improving with each new story.

What cause are you most passionate about and why?
I’m passionate about getting kids to read. With video games and tablets taking time away from other endeavors it’s quite a challenge to make a story strong enough that kids are willing to read it instead of doing anything else. I was a successful with a previous series to get kids excited about reading and so for that I am happy and constantly striving to repeat that success.

In the last year have you learned or improved on any skills?
One of the skills I am happy to have enhanced recently was my outlining process for novels. I think I have finally hit on a good method based on how James Patterson outlines his novels. And he’s a very successful writer.

Do you have any rituals you follow when finishing a piece of work?
Don’t know that I would call it a ritual, per say, but every time I finish a piece of work I have this mental crash of intense sadness. I guess because it’s over? But then I start working on the next project and I’m fine again. I guess that makes me a storytelling junkie.

Who has influenced you throughout your career as a writer?
Robert Ludlum, Larry Niven, and James Rollins are just a few of the authors I really admire and aspire to weave engaging stories as they do.

What is the most important thing in your life right now?
The most important thing in my life is my family. To that end, I’m working very hard to make sure that I make time to spend with them.

What are you currently working on?
I am currently working on my second fantasy mashup of a Charles Dickens novel. The first fantasy mashup for A Tale of Two Cities was a lot of fun and I have an idea for another one of his popular stories that will be equally as enjoyable.

Do you have any advice for writers or readers?
My advice for writers is to write what you would enjoy reading. My advice to readers is to find the writers you enjoy reading and encourage them to write more.

Is there an author that inspired you to write?
As I mentioned before, Ludlum, Niven, and Rollins were all instrumental in me wanting to use the written word to entertain others.

What are some of your long term goals?
Well, one of my long-term goals is to write all 26 novels in the series that starts with A is for Apprentice. Another long-term goal is to get A is for Apprentice onto television as an ongoing series. I’m a fan of Once on television and see A is for Apprentice appealing to the same audience.

What do you feel has been your greatest achievement as an author?
My greatest achievement as an author was in finding a name for the magic users in my series that fulfilled two functions. One, I needed a term that has not seen heavy use in fantasy literature to date yet still had roots in early storytelling about magic users. And two, when you found out what it meant it you would say to yourself, “Of course. Why hasn’t anyone else done that?”

What do you feel is your biggest strength?
My biggest strength in writing is the ability to plot out an intricate yet satisfying story.

Biggest weakness?
My biggest weakness is emotional depth. I am a plot machine but when it comes to diving deep into the characters… Well let’s just say, that’s why I have built up an excellent team of editors to help me.

What do you feel sets this book apart from others in the same genre?
This story feels familiar, i.e. fish out of water, boy who doesn’t know he’s this great hero, villain trying to prevent the hero from recognizing as potential, etc. But I incorporate my experience of writing white-knuckle heart-pumping thrillers to ratchet up the excitement and adrenaline in telling a fantasy tale that is both familiar but also fresh and new. I have also ensured that there are no throwaway characters in my stories. If they show up, they have significance whether it is in this story directly or in one of the 25 follow-up novels that will roll out over the years.

You know the scenario – you’re stuck on an island. What book would you bring with you and why?
Vertical Run by Joseph Garber. Reading that book is like watching the Die Hard movies in text form. It is one of the few books I’ve read dozens of times and repeatedly repurchase as I give my copy away.

If you could go back and change one day, what would it be?
There are no days I would change. Every day in my life brought me to today and I am more than happy to actually be here.

Are you a different person now than you were 5 years ago? In what way/s?
I am very different than I was five years ago. The most notable difference is that I’ve learned how to make my own luck rather than hope lucky things happen to me.

What is the most important lesson you have learned from life so far?
The most important lesson I have learned from life is that things take time.

Is there anything you regret doing/not doing?
While there will always be things I can look back at and say, “I should’ve done that or I shouldn’t have done this,” I live by a strict code of “No Regrets”. If I did it, I did it. If I didn’t do it, I didn’t do it. At the time, I must have had a good reason either way.

What is your favorite past-time?
I love experiencing story in all its varied formats whether it is a book, a movie, or a video game.

Is there anything else you would like to share with us?
I have a lot of fun when I’m writing my stories and I sincerely hope that translates to the page. When you pick up and read one of my stories I want you to have as much fun reading it as I did writing it.

Posted on February 12, 2016, in Guest Authors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. 26 novels? Holy moly! Will you follow the “A is for…” “B is for…” format? That would be so cool.

    Majanka @ I Heart Reading

    Like

Leave a Reply

